Baseband flash for noobs????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tony1208, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. tony1208
    Offline

    tony1208 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would love to flash my droid to the newer baseband and sbf file but is there a guide for noobs like me ??
  2. Humpa
    Offline

    Humpa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
  3. stedrocklp
    Offline

    stedrocklp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    Well after going through this whole process I am very sad to say it didnt work for me. I loaded the sbf with RSDlite and the rerooted to no avail. I actually checked when it was bone stock (2.1) and it still ended in .01P. If you have any other tips or know what I may have done wrong, I would be willing to spend an hour to give it another try. One thought I had is I checked the baseband after I reactivated would that set the radio back to .01P since they havent relased the official 2.1 yet?
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RSDLite MUST finish without errors or saying it failed.
  5. stedrocklp
    Offline

    stedrocklp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    ok it did say failed but did then reboot. Do you have any idea what might cause this?
  6. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes.


    RSDLite is a piece of crap.


    It took me 3 or 4 times for a successful radio flash.
  7. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Yeah, I tried flashing the latest SBF over 15 times tonight. It failed every single time. I checked and made sure Windows was not blocking the file, checked permissions, and so on. Now my battery is so dead, it won't charge, and I can't boot the phone, it says not enough power to program. This SBF flash really hosed me.

    For the folks who successfully got up to 03P, where did you get the SBF file? I think the one hosted on rapidshare is hosed.

    -Mike
  8. stedrocklp
    Offline

    stedrocklp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Me
    ok well I will give it another go and post back with results. Thanks for the heads up.
  9. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The RS one is the original. Thats the one I flashed. I tried a few times initially and it failed. Once I ran 2.1 for a bit, I tried again and it worked. I've tried since then, and it worked again.

    Coincidence, I am sure, I doubt whats on the phone has any bearing. Keep in mind that RSDLite disconnects from your phone after 2.1, and then reconnects to flash the radio. Could be a driver issue. Im on Win 7 64 bit.

    I also noticed it helps to have nothing running in the background while doing this. RSDLite is gay.
  10. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Same here on Win 7, 64 bit.

    Once I get a new battery tomorrow, I'll give it another go.

    -Mike
  11. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Running as admin?

    RSDLite, that is.
  12. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Yup. I just uninstalled the drivers and RSD. Gonna reboot, reinstall, and see if that changes the game.

    -Mike
  13. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Will flashing sbf's onto your phone with RSD Lite too many times mess up your phone at all?
  14. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a larger potential of completing killing your phone.

    If it makes you feel better though I have had failures in RSDLite that left my phone with code corrupt (message on boot), I've done a battery pull halfway through a flash, etc, and I am still here to speak about it.

    YMMV, I recommend you don't tempt fate more than you have to.
  15. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Yea I've had the code corrupt message too, but will it depreciate your memory or anything?
  16. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably no more than normal usage would.
  17. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    I did, and I lost this round. I'll go get a new refurbed Droid tomorrow. Maybe I can blame it on a failed OTA update.

    None of the re-installing worked. The Droid won't even stay on now, pops on to tell me the battery is too low to program and then shuts off. The white light is on next to the charging port, but nobody is home. :D

    -Mike
  18. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds good, I guess I'll wait this OTA thing out a couple more days, and if it doesn't come I'm going back to the unofficial 2.1
  19. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Leave it on the charger for a little while then try again.
  20. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, yeah I wasn't expecting anyone to actually end up killing their device :(

    Def. let it charge overnight. As long as the programming bootloader is still there, it should be able to be salvaged.
Search tags for this page

android how to flash baseband

,

droid what is flash radio

,

droid x2 baseband flash

,

droid x2 baseband radio flash

,

flash baseband droid 3

,

flash programming for noobs

,

how to flash a radio android

,

how to flash baseband and libs on android

,

how to flash baseband file

,

motorola droid 3 baseband file flash rsd

,

motorola droid sbf baseband

,

no baseband after sbf flash