Barometer?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by pilot25, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. pilot25

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Where is the Barometer? How do we know it's in the phone?
     
  2. rmart88

    rmart88 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +6
    Similar Question... Why does the phone have/need a Barometer? lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. cloud12077

    cloud12077 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +3
  4. smokiedabong

    smokiedabong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    Go to the Market , search "barometer"
     
  5. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Suposedly it inceases accuracy/speed of the gps. I havent seen any proof that its in my gn lol

    Honestly, id rather not have a useless marketing feature in my phone draining the battery.
     
  6. 2ksilverbullet

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a Bosche BMP180 according to the 'Android System Info' app.
     
  7. DHO

    DHO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NOLA
    Ratings:
    +1
    The barometer is a very useful feature when you have the GPS enabled

    To get a GPS coordinate you need 3 positions. X,Y,Z. Your phone can estimate X and Y based on cell towers. The barometer allows it to estimate altitude (or Z). So it allows for quicker GPS positioning. When not using GPS, I doubt it is turned on.
     
  8. Creed

    Creed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It doesn't waste battery. Basically it turns on when it tries to get a GPS lock and turns off after.
     
  9. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10

    Thing is, i use my gps daily and havent noticed it being more accurate as far as my positio goes than my bionic was.
     
  10. DHO

    DHO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NOLA
    Ratings:
    +1
    It does not help in accuracy, just quickness in acquiring positioning.
     
  11. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    Correct. Instead of guessing altitude, your phone now has the ability to get your altitude coordinate.

    It's in there and will probably be more helpful as software is improved, as it's most likely a very software driven device.

    It also helps improve our weather forecasting apps data.
     
  12. DesktopDevin

    DesktopDevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +64
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    My old magellan meridian gps (2001) can get an altitude reading faster and update more often from the gps constellation, too bad that thing doesn't have updated maps otherwise I would still be using it.

    That thing was da bomb. I could load it with marine maps to use on the water as well as on the road.

    Basically a barometer is not needed to get altitude with a "good" gps unit.
     
Search tags for this page
can you use a barometer on a droid bionic
,
does droid 3 have a barometer
,
does droid bionic have barometer
,
droid 4 barameter
,

droid 4 barometer

,

droid bionic barometer

,

droid x barometer

,
how to see barometer and droid razr
,
htc barometer
,
nexus 4 barometer