Barnacle/Wireless Tether with Airport failure

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kcg016, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. kcg016
    Offline

    kcg016 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    Was hoping you could help. Been researching endlessly for a solution to what I think should be an easy fix...but have not been able to find anything with the search function on these forums or on google.

    I've rooted my Droid Incredible. Installed and tried both Barnacle AND Wireless Tether (with the file) and both seem to be running successfully with no error messages on the phone's end. On my laptop, however, it doesn't pop up as a network to connect to on Airport, all it does is show it under the "Devices" portion. When I try to connect to them here in this section, I have no internet browsing capabilities.

    I don't know much about networks...but I assume since these programs operate in ad hoc mode is why it's showing up in airport that way? Appreciate any help! Thank you in advanced!

    kc
  2. DROOIID
    Offline

    DROOIID Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Sorry but, can you define "airport"?

    DroidForums junkie!!
  4. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    He's using a Mac, macs WiFi scanning software is called airport lol.

    But I could never get it to work on the Macs at my school, I don't know why. I know there's a few users on the forums that have Macs, just wait for one of them to see this or PM one as soon as you find one.

    Sorry I couldn't help you to the extent that you needed, hopefully this will point you in the right direction with using the search button :p

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Gotcha! Thanks! :)



    DroidForums junkie!!
  6. kcg016
    Offline

    kcg016 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, I actually already tried that one and end up with the same results. Under traffic, nothing is being uploaded or downloaded after an initial second, though like I said it all seems to be working fine with no errors. I'm convinced I'm doing something wrong or it has to do with the phone showing in the devices section.
Search tags for this page

can't get barnacle to connect to airport