1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Barnacle troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cbrands, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. cbrands
    Offline

    cbrands New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a rooted Moto Droid 1 with 2.2, no custom roms/kernals, etc.

    I installed the Barnacle wifi tethering app, it says it's running ok, but no device (laptop, ipod, other phone), can see the signal. I've also tried the Barnacle wifi Legacy app that's in the market, also with no luck.

    Any ideas? Thanks.
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. cbrands
    Offline

    cbrands New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to the Barnacle website (Barnacle Wifi Tether - Official Website), it says that no custom kernels are required for it to work.
  4. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    i had problems with barnacle as well. not sure what the deal was but i couldn't connect anything to it. wen to wireless tether app in the market and have had no issues with it.
    hopefully this code works...otherwise, it is just called wireless tether...its a green wireless symbol for the icon. simple, easy, and just works.

    [​IMG]
    here is the web page
    android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code
  5. cbrands
    Offline

    cbrands New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, I should clarify that not only can I not connect anything to it, nothing even sees the signal, as if my phone is not broadcasting the SSID.
  6. CobaltKitsune
    Offline

    CobaltKitsune New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the EXACT same problem on my D1, froyo 2.2.1 running LFY 1.95 and a slayher 2.6.32.9 kernal.

    It looks like the app is running correctly but I can't get a device to actually find the signal. I've tried both Barnacle and Wireless Tethering, and neither one seems able to work.
Search tags for this page
barnacle ipad unable to connect
,
barnacle on but no signal to connect to
,
cant find barnacal signal
,

how to connect to barnacle