Barnacle Tether for PSP

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ScoobyDoo27, May 18, 2010.

  1. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So my house's wifi is protected by WPA2-PSK and unfortunately my PSP doesn't support that. I wanted to use Barnacle to be able to play on the internet with my PSP but I can't seem to get it to work. I start up Barnacle and then scan for the networks on my PSP but it doesn't find Barnacle. My PS3 doesn't seem to find it either when I scan but my computer does. Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does your PSP show any unsupported networks?

    My PSP as well does not find my Droid, most likely because the Droid is a network group and the PSP doesn't support that.
     
  3. pinesal

    pinesal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Now I'm not an expert on networking or anything but from what I can remember. the PSP only supports ad-hoc connections and the DROID only supports AP connections?

    PCs can do both, that's why it's not a problem on a computer.

    Correct me if I am wrong please.
     
  4. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pinesal: Almost right.

    The PSP also supports Infrastructure networks, which is literally WiFi.

    The difference between Infrastructure and Ad-Hoc is that Ad-Hoc requires no routing base, and can access external networks. Ad-hoc is strictly PSP to PSP, which is what the Droid also does. It performs as a Ad-Hoc device to your PC/Laptop, and that's why it'll show up as a network device on your Mac.

    I need to look at the wireless tether software on the phones to see if I can modify them to perform on an infrastructure network, but I highly doubt it.
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why not just hardwire the PSP?
     
  6. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't hardwire with the PSP, only WiFi.
     
Search tags for this page
ad hoc psp to android
,
android to psp ad hoc
,
how to connect psp adhoc on android phones
,
how to tether android to psp
,
psp ad hoc android
,
psp internet tether
,
psp tethering
,

psp wifi tether

,
tether psp to pc
,

wifi tether for psp