Bar loss when placing calls.

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by emonsterick, May 9, 2010.

  1. emonsterick
    Offline

    emonsterick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    I'm running BBv1.0 with smoked glass theme and the 800mhz bekit kernal.

    Whenever I place a call, the second the call starts, I drop from 4 bars down to 2. As soon as I hang up, it jumps back up to 4. Is this happening to anyone else?

    Anyone have any thoughts as to what might be causing this?
    Thanks in advance!
  2. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure this is not a BB issue cuz BB has nothing to do with signal or radio, so I don't see how it could affect it.
  3. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats happened on every verizon cell i've ever owned. i think it's because normally the phone is sitting on 3g, but when you go to place a call, it has to switch to 1x.
  4. emonsterick
    Offline

    emonsterick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I don't know.
    I'm not so much talking about the 3g service as I am just regular service.

    I flashed Cyanogen and there's no drop in signal loss. I reflashed a fresh BB and I'll be sitting at a full 4 bars. As soon as I start a call, it drops instantly down to 2. As soon as I hit end, it pops back up to 4. No matter what, every time.

    Strange.
  5. bad4u
    Offline

    bad4u New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive always had that problem with the droid. even before I rooted. Dont see how cyan would change this, curious though.
  6. peteralfonso
    Offline

    peteralfonso Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL this thread made me smile. This is what the AT&T commercials on tv brag about everyday. Verizon can not do data & voice at the same time. Verizon's commercials brag about having the best "3G" coverage, which is true, but what they dont mention is that does not reflect their "voice" coverage which is used when making a call.

    So to answer your question, when you are not making a call you can have great data coverage but when you go to make a call Verizon's voice coverage may suck and the bars that drop will prove that. Hope you understand my explanation, basically they are two different networks.

    P.S. ROMs have nothing to do with cell signal, if you have not updated your baseband I also suggest that you do that, I have the update available in the ROM Manager app by KOUSH.
  7. emonsterick
    Offline

    emonsterick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Pete, thanks for the response. It made perfect sense. I had already updated my baseband (.03P) prior to noticing the issue and I realized that that could be just it. It's probably been doing that all along, I just never noticed until last night.

    OFF TOPIC: I know everyone says this but Pete, BB is ridiculously fast and stable and simply THE BEST rom out. Thank you for all your hard work.
  8. dpaq
    Offline

    dpaq New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not a good enough explanation

    I am having the same problem, but worse, I start with 3 or 4 bars and as soon as I call I am losing all bars and unable to make calls. This is not usual for Verizon phones as I have been using them for 10+ years and never had this issue with a different phone even with my blackberry storm POS.

    SOMEBODY HELP!!!
  9. thesandman00
    Offline

    thesandman00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it's basically the single biggest deficiency of Verizon. Their data service rules everything, but not being able to call on the 3G network is a huge pain in the ass. Remnants of the archaic CDMA system.
  10. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing archaic about cdma, it makes the best use of available spectrum.
Search tags for this page

everytime i make a call my signal drops

,

green bars on cell phone go away as soon as i place call

,
i have all bars at first but as soon as i make a call they d
,
loose service when making calls
,

my cell phone loses bars frequently

,

my phone has full bars but when i call i lose service

,

phone full bars until i call

,

phone loses bars as soon as i dial

,
us cellular phone loses service when placing call
,
verizon full bars untill i make a call
,
why do i have full bars till i make a call
,

why do i loose cell signal when i make a call

,
why do i lose my signal everytime i try to make a call on my
,

why do my bars on my cell phone go away when i try to make a

,
why dose my cell phone lose all the bars when i make a call