1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Backup question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jjd228, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. jjd228
    Offline

    jjd228 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking for a backup app that can actually do a FULL, BIT-BY-BIT backup of EVERYTHING on the filesystem, in memory etc. I want a TRUE "image" of the system that includes the OS and all settings, apps and all settings etc. Why does this seem so hard to find? For every backup app that exists I see people praising it and others bashing it saying it doesn't work. Either it works or it doesn't. I don't want a half-assed app that will backup "some" settings and not others. Simple question: Does what I'm looking for exist or not?
  2. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you would have to root your phone and use Titanium Backup. MyBackUp Pro will backup your entire phone, if its rooted. if not, it will just backup the apps and their settings.
  3. jjd228
    Offline

    jjd228 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. Mybackup has a paid "pro" version and a free "root" version. What is the difference? Yes I have root access to my phone.
  4. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then you should be able to backup your entire phone. the root version is for rooted phones and will do what you need.

    i would suggest titanium backup.
  5. jjd228
    Offline

    jjd228 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got done reading 100 reviews of Titanium Backup where people complain that it doesn't backup everything. Apparently it gets "some" of your apps but none of their settings, and a bunch of other random stuff that it doesn't do. If that's the case then this isn't a true image and I don't want to learn the hard way when I need to do a restore.
  6. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    then try mybackup root. i mean, you can install both, do a backup and see which one works for you. i have both TB and MyBackup installed. I recently did a restore with Mybackup Pro (not root) and it restored my entire image. The app recognized that i was rooted and asked if i wanted to back up the entire system, or just the apps and data. the choice is yours.

    then there is also Droid Bootstrap Recovery. I use this for backups as well. Now this, i believe, backs up the entire phone.
  7. jjd228
    Offline

    jjd228 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok cool. But have you ever actually tried a restore? When you say Droid Bootstrap Recovery backs up the entire phone, are you saying that Mybackup does not?
  8. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i have done restores with both mybackup and bootstrap. both restored the phone to the way i customized it.

    mybackup pro - if the phone is not rooted, it will not back up the entire phone. if the phone is rooted, it will detect this, and ask you if you wish to back up the entire system. when you do a restore, it will ask you what type of restore do you want to do? app and data, only apps, or system.

    both have worked flawlessly for me.
  9. jjd228
    Offline

    jjd228 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks then last question is... What is the difference between the pro and root versions? I don't get it. The root version is free so it must NOT do something that the pro version can do, right?
  10. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now that, i can not answer, because i never downloaded the root version.
  11. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    If you are rooted, install Bootstrapper and make a backup using Clockwork Mod Recovery included in Bootsrapper. Then go to your sd card and copy the backup file(s) in Clockworkmod/Backup to a safe place. :)

    Doing a Restore in CWM Recovery will get you back everything, apps, settings, homescreens, etc.
  12. jsw6380a
    Offline

    jsw6380a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1...

    If I am not mistaken titanium backup will not put your settings/apps/homescreen and backround back into place. The only way to truly save EVERYTHING EXACTLY how you want it is to do a back up in bootstrapper. If you are using adw you can also lock your screen as well as back up your settings. I have locked the screen but I haven't tried a backup yet.
  13. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Launcher Pro will also let you do a Backup and Restore for the Homescreen settings, but it won't fully restore widgets, you still need to trash and replace all widgets on your screens following the restore.
  14. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    From another forum, but relevant to this discussion:


  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well maybe on the X. I know it didn't work that way on the D2.
  16. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    What didn't restore? The only time I didn't get a full restore after a backup was when going from roms that used different framework builds, or different system files like going from a 2.3.315 to a 2.3.340 rom for instance where Data could not be restored.
Search tags for this page

difference between backup and mybackup pro

,
difference between backup and mybackup root
,
my backup pro
,
restore contacts from cwm backup titanium backup pro
,
should i get the free my backup or get my backup pro?
,

where does cwm store backups

,
where does mybackup pro store backups