Backup assistant

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by cokdesl, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. cokdesl
    Offline

    cokdesl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do i turn off backup assistant or get rid of it

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  2. riko540
    Offline

    riko540 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +5
    I don't see a way to shut it off. I'm curious as to why you want to get rid of it anyway?

    sent from my pocket
     
  3. PaulQ
    Offline

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just figured out how to do this. Follow this link, it works:

    How to Disable Backup Assistant - Android Forums

    I disabled it because I have no need for it on two fronts: (1) I use an Exchange server so all my contacts are held there and (2) Google syncs as well so there's your second backup.

    It runs a connection everyday... it can mess things up when you are on Exchange... just don't need it.
     
  4. jgmarz
    Offline

    jgmarz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since updating to 4.2, when I try to sync backup assistant it tells me my pin is wrong. I tried the forgot pin option and it tells me exactly what I've been trying to enter. What's up?
     
  5. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    i had the same problem one time i had to do a factory reset
     
  6. redbert31
    Offline

    redbert31 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installed juice defender today to help reduce battery drain..set keep it to kill apps that I wasn't using. It kept asking me to kill more apps and it became an annoying thing constantly every half hour.so I installed it and after that I got a warning that my backup assistant want working and that I should call verizon.I can do that in the am but is there anything I can do now. I'm a newbie so please be gentle so I can follow your directions (also I don't know much technical language yet so keep it simple please .thanks so much, linda

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. metawarlord
    Offline

    metawarlord Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So my back up assistant vanished from my phone... all I did was put my eris sd card in so I could get my contacts back in my DX and put the original back in my DX... why did it go away?


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Isn't Eris an Android phone? That should mean your contacts are backed up by gmail. You don't need download assistant.
     
  9. metawarlord
    Offline

    metawarlord Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is and oh... how do I get them from google? o_O

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    When you log into Google your contacts are automatically transferred. It's that easy.

    If they didn't transfer over you might not have them listed as "My Contacts." Go into your gmail on line and make sure they are.
     
  11. metawarlord
    Offline

    metawarlord Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh ok. Cool thanks hookbill!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. nate39
    Offline

    nate39 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wife has my Incredible now that I updated to another phone. She wanted to keep my email on that phone so I didn't do a factory reset I just set up her email along with mine on her phone. But now it won't back up. It tells her that the phone number has changed and to fix it she is to enter a numerical pin but we don't know which one. And whatever we enter it tells us that that account already exists and to contact customer support. But what customer support, Verizon, HTC? Does anyone know who to fix this without doing a factory reset? Thanks
     
  13. vey
    Offline

    vey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This sounds like a Verizon problem to me.
     
  14. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,017
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +200
    You might want to enter your last 4 digits of your SSN. Worth a try.

    aliens don't use razr's, they use obsidian.
     
  15. nate39
    Offline

    nate39 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never thought of SS#, thanks. I knew I might have to call Verizon, of course, that is usually an ordeal.
     
Similar Threads
  1. jgmarz
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  2. metawarlord
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  3. Skidoo03
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,259
  4. 305rev305
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. mouthrulez
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,865
Loading...
Search tags for this page
adr6300 backup assistant password
,
droid bionic how do i turn off backup
,

how do i get rid of backup assistant

,
how do i get rid of personal asst. on my nexus s4
,
how do i shut off backupd helper on my mac book pro
,
how to get backup assistant plus off of my droid intuition
,
how to get rid of backup assistant plus
,
how to get rid of moto verizon backup assistant
,
how to get rid of verizon backup assistant
,
how to shut off back up assistant on htc rezound