Backing up system image

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by kikitt, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. kikitt

    kikitt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello I was wondering how I can perform a backup for my r2d2 droid 2. I recently rooted with z4root other apps that require root are working fine. I installed rom manager and flashed clockwork recovery and clicked whwere it said boot into revocery but all that happens is a pic of android and a loading bar then it restarts normally. Is there something im doing wrong?

    I also tried flashing the recovery a bunch more times but to no avail...please help

    -Kikitt

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it go all the way through the progress bar or does it immediately restart?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. kikitt

    kikitt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It goes really fast but it looks like it might get all the way.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you see like script on the screen or just the progress bar?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. kikitt

    kikitt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just the progress bar...I checked again..its not getting very far and then the android pic switches to an exclamation mark real fast bfor it restarts again.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just read the first two stickies on this forum and possibly the answer to you question will be found in the second one.

    I am no expert, but if you have the R2D2 stock just rooted, I would tell you to spend the money and get Droid 2 bootstrapper from the market and use it to make your back up. It is simple and easy to use.

    First you hit the top button and if it gives you "success" hit "ok"

    then hit the second button.

    Once the menu comes up use the volume down button to get to "backup/restore.

    Choose this by clicking the camera button, it will be on backup so just click the camera button and off you go.

    When it is finished you will be at the "reboot now" and you click the camera button.

    Done.

    And it is just as simple to restore from the back up.

    READ THE STICKIES FIRST BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW IF WHAT I HAVE SAID HERE WILL INTERFERE WITH ROM MANAGER OR CLOCKWORK RECOVERY. AT VERY LEAST, FOLLOW DIRECTIONS TO REMOVE CLOCKWORK RECOVERY BEFORE YOU USE MY METHOD.
     
  7. kikitt

    kikitt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello thank you both for all the help after the last post I checked into information about bootstrappers and found one that is working and letting me into clockwork recovery now! Just incase anyone wants to know I found it at

    -Kikitt

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
    #7 kikitt, Nov 25, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2010
Search tags for this page

how to backup system.img on motorola droid 3

,

motorola droid image system