Backing up stock rom

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ldopa, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Hey I just rooted recently and I haven't yet flashed my first rom. If I just want to make a backup of my current stock ROM running launcher pro would I just use d2 bootstrap recovery? Can someone explain it to a noob like me?

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
  2. Thedroidstr
    Offline

    Thedroidstr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Just install rom manager from the market, then up at the to it says flash clockworkmod recovery do that then you can make a backup in rom manager or using bootstrap which will take you into recovery. You can make a back up in both recovery and rom manager its good to have 2 or 10 of them just in case
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, use bootstrap...far more reliable than ROM Mangler! In fact, with the Bootstrapper, you don't even need ROM Mangler at all :)



    Thread has been Thunder struck!!
  4. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Dumb question maybe but just to be sure, open d2 bootstrap, click the top button, then hit reboot into recovery, then ill be in clockwork right? Then I go to backup? Then.... (I'm going off memory here. I've never been into clockwork yet! Thanks for the help guys

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No such thing as a dumb question buddy :)
    That's right! Once you're in CW (Clockworkmod), scroll down to Backup/Restore and press your camera button. Then press it again on Backup and let it do its thing. When its done, hit your power button until Reboot System Now is highlighted and press your camera button again.



    Thread has been Thunder struck!!
Search tags for this page

just want too backup stock rom