Backing up phone for sbf to Froyo

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by brandon890, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. brandon890
    Offline

    brandon890 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, so im on verizons GB, and ive decided to sbf back to stock froyo so I can tether. I am just wondering if once I do that, the stock backup assistant on my phone will be able to put everything back how it was, or if I should use a different app. I read up on titanium backup, but that requires root.. So will the backup assistant do what I need it to? I dont want to lose everything on my phone
  2. milski65
    Offline

    milski65 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange Virginia
    There is a free version of titanium. It takes a lot longer to do all your back ups (individually versus batch). I think backup assistanct from Verizon will only do contacts.
  3. brandon890
    Offline

    brandon890 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but im on gingerbread, and titanium requires root
  4. milski65
    Offline

    milski65 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange Virginia
    Just checked. they used to have a free (unrooted) version in the market. I couldn't find it. Check the market for Android app manager That might help you out. Or MyBackup Pro. One of these should do what you need. Froyo vs GB is not an issue with apps (maybe a rare occasion I'm unaware of).
  5. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Titanium needs root, absolutely. Try antek app manager or my backup, but unless you have root, you cannot back up data. Google will back up the apps, but data.... no

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8