1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Backing Up Before Getting a Replacement?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by DroidGurl, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. DroidGurl
    Offline

    DroidGurl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have to get a replacement Motorola Droid, how can I back up stuff (I do not sync my contacts with Google). Are there any apps someone could recommend for that so I can restore all of my settings/contacts etc. on the new phone?

    Thanks!
  2. kbrede
    Offline

    kbrede New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know why you're replacing the Droid, but if it works well enough to export contacts to the SD card, you could do that. Then put the old card into the new phone and import. I suspect you can also transfer the exported file to your desktop, from the SD card, but I don't know for sure.
    Kent
  3. DroidGurl
    Offline

    DroidGurl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you! :) I'll give that a try.
  4. jltung
    Offline

    jltung New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ma
    Back up

    I think AppsManager was good for backup when I had to do a hard reboot of my phone.
  5. DroidGurl
    Offline

    DroidGurl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you!
  6. 12master
    Offline

    12master New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you have a google account,your phone will send all your contacs to the google account,so when y get the new phone,it will sync back all the contacs already in your g account,I now,Im on my second droid!,and waiting for my third! (usual blackout problems!)
  7. jaysonstaurt
    Offline

    jaysonstaurt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EVERYTHING is backed up to your google account. You don't need any 3rd party backup applications. Once you log into your google account on the new phone it will load everything back up that you had on your old phone.
  8. BGK
    Offline

    BGK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    26.5N 82W
    I'll go one better: with MyBackup Pro, I got a no-touch restore of everything but my non-GMail e-mail accounts. I needed to get a replacement phone because two keys on my hard keyboard stopped working. Before going to the Verizon store, I bought ($4.95) and installed MyBackup Pro, and backed up my apps and the data to the SD card. I put the original card in the new phone. When first powered on, I had to enter my GMail credentials, but seconds after that MyBackup took over and restored just about everything. Call log, SMS messages, app settings, just about everything. I had a little hillarity with my POP3 and Exchange e-mail accounts, but that was minor and might've been me not following directions. Certainly worth the $5.

    No affiliation with the publisher, just a satisfied customer &c &c.
  9. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    I have Mybackup Pro and was wondering how well it works. I plan to upgrade to the Droid 2 next November so want to make sure I can easily do that. Do you use the MyBackup Pro online backups or the SD card? Would be nice if you could do both.
  10. DroidGurl
    Offline

    DroidGurl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, lots of options! Thank you! :)
  11. kbrede
    Offline

    kbrede New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any experience with the app but their website says you can backup to their secure servers.

    RerWare Android&#8482 Products: MyBackup Pro (backup Android&#8482,backup G1,backup Hero,backup MyTouch), MyBookmarks, Asteroids, Lunar Lunacy

    Kent
  12. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
  13. 10ACTony
    Offline

    10ACTony New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I disagree. I'm on my second replacement and NONe of the apps, other than those I purchased were listed in the Market and those had to manually be downloaded. NONE of the other apps were ever downloaded (Waited for 4 hrs before I used MyBackup pro to reinstall the apps - but that an entirely different thread). Before I went the manual route I spoke to two different CS and neither knew of any way to have the apps listed/available. And yes I do have the backup / sync optionms checked in the settings.
  14. 10ACTony
    Offline

    10ACTony New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How were you able to do that? Email accounts are not shown anywhere that I can find in the backup or restore/sections. The only way I can get anything to restore is by manually starting the restore operation. Then the settings have to be changed to allow apps not from the market to be loaded. After all apps are restored, none show up under downloads in the Market. If I have missed something in this please let me know as using this to restore apps is a pain.
  15. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've had three DROIDs and have done at least 4-5 factory resets and EVERY time, the market has restored my apps. if you restore your apps from backup or install them from another source other than the market, it won't know what you have installed.
  16. 10ACTony
    Offline

    10ACTony New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    \
    Care to share how you did this? What settings are you using? This is actually the third replacement not the second. I set up my gmail account, all contacts and calendar, sync'd and in Market all purchased apps showed up under downloads (They never downloaded by themselves). As I said I waited for 4 hrs and nothing other than contatcs and cals were on the phone. The fact that the purchased apps were listed is a good indication that the new phone was set up the same as the old phone. What did you go to get the apps to show up?

    Thank in advance.