backing up apps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by joshmutiny, May 28, 2010.

  1. joshmutiny

    joshmutiny Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's the best way to back up and restore apps? I'm running CM 5062 right now, and want to upgrade to 5071, but i have a TON of apps that I don't want to lose when wiping for the new rom. astro has a backup manager, i know. will that work?
     
  2. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Haven't tried Astro, but Titanium is terrific
     
  3. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am using mybackup pro and have not had any complaints. I have heard of some using Titanium as well.
     
  4. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use Titanium Backup and it had saved my ass several times. It backs up data too

    My Droid Does Tapatalk...
     
  5. FDFTW!!

    FDFTW!! Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like Titanium. Installed SG 6.0.1 last night and when I restored it was as if the apps were never erased, all my settings remained... beautiful.
     
  6. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    IIRC ...in order to have your apps reloaded onto your screens as they were arranged on the previous ROM after a new ROM install and a Titanium restore, you need to do it to the same launcher... that was the case for me atleast
     
  7. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep, Launchers wont cross-configure. Home will only restore to Home. Helix 2 will only restore to Helix 2.

    I've used all of the above, and I honestly have fewer problems when I just reconfig manually. App backups are great, and work great, but setting backups always need to be tweaked, and I find it easier to just do them manually. That's just me though.