Backing up and Changing Roms

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JLCollier2005, May 6, 2010.

  1. JLCollier2005

    JLCollier2005 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so I think I have a fairly simple question, but i've asked it on other (much smaller) forum communities and gotten no answer, so I'm hoping someone here can help me.

    Simply put I am rooted running DroidMod 1.0.
    I have my home screen set up just as I want it.
    I want to try other roms but keep DroidMod 1.0 backed up.

    My question. Is it possible to backup the current state of my phone, home screen setup and all, so that when/if I decide to come back to Droidmod it will be exactly as it is now? If so, can someone tell me how to do this?
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it will be exactly how you left it.

    1. Power off phone
    2. Hold down x button on keyboard
    3. Boot up phone while holding x on keyboard
    4. Select backup/restore
    5. Select Advanced Nandroid Backup
    6. Give it a name, check off all categories for backup
    7. Press perform backup, and you're done.
     
  3. JLCollier2005

    JLCollier2005 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titans, thank you! I figured it was that easy, but it seems like no one I asked knew for sure!
     
  4. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Np =)
    messageenteredistooshort
     
  5. PetRiLJoe

    PetRiLJoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    Ratings:
    +1
    I do not use the stock home because I prefer to have seven home screens so I use HelixLauncher and HelixLauncher 2 for the extra widget and application shortcut space. Whenever I switch to a new ROM I will always have to blank home screens. I think that much is unavoidable.

    Just throwing out some details as it seems you may have already solved your problem.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. pbbgso

    pbbgso Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a similar process if you used SPRecovery?
     
  7. MAzing87

    MAzing87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    So if I was to back up the unrooted stock 2.1 rom, would that just automatically load up if I wanted to unroot?
     
  8. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    My instructions are for SPRecovery AND Clockwork Recovery.

    MAzing, if you want to unroot, follow my directions, then when you boot up, you will still be rooted. Click on your DM Updater app, and select stock 2.0.1
     
  9. JLCollier2005

    JLCollier2005 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    PetRiLJoe,

    that was my other option, because that way I can just load that app and it'll be like I like it, but I like the standard 5 screen home, I don't really need more than that, and when I was using Home++ (back when it was good) I hated that half the times I pushed the home button, the home selector would pop up, even if I set it as default.