Background Spanning

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by holytotemic, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    will the droid support spanning a background across the 3 desktops, on the same note will there be a way to add additional "desktops" like up to 6?
  2. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    i haven't read anything about either of your questions, but i am also interested. spanning one wallpaper across the three desktops would be a nice feature. about more than three though, i can't imagine a need for them.. you can get to any of your apps with the menu button (i assume), the desktops would just be for shortcuts to what you use most. it looks like you can have 20 shortcuts (see pics in this review) on each page, making 60 total. that is quick access to a LOT of stuff... still it would be cool to expand if need be.

    and welcome to the forums!
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I haven't heard anything about it. Usually this late in the game if you haven't heard about it, usually means it's not there.
  4. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not necessarily...just means noone has looked into that yet....although with a bit o gimp skill i can evenly split a picture into three equal parts and set them as backgrounds accordingly...extra steps but doable. and as for the extra "monitors"...im sure there will be a spot in the software if its not an option. there is a terminal app....wonder if the xorg.conf is editable...it is linux....proly could "hack" it to support more "monitors". only reason is there are a few social networking apps that i would want to take up their own screen (facebook/twitter).
  5. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    oh true, i guess that makes more sense. and yes, assuming you can set three different backgrounds, splitting them would work nicely! good call
  6. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1000 wow gold to the first person who figures out root information for the droid...LOL!


    I WANT TO su !
  7. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since android is a debian system would you be able to recompile and debian software available for say ubuntu for use on the android phone?


    and i resent this newbie tag...i really do
  8. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ha, Don't worry its goes away after 5 posts.. :)

  9. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i do believe this has gone off the theme subject and become a general post or possibly a help/troubleshooting post...if the mods feel this is true then please relocate this bad boy, thanks
  10. Champers
    Offline

    Champers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It appears that it only allows 960x854 images for your background (equivalence of 2 panels)


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2009
  11. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    he wins.... that actually makes me really happy

    ps: welcome to the forums!
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  12. Champers
    Offline

    Champers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I'm really excited for this phone. I found a better background but it won't let me download until I figure out how to make a fake SD card image somehow...I'll let ya know if I do.
  13. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    sweet, i have no idea how to do that.. so good luck! i know i'm looking forward to it
  14. Champers
    Offline

    Champers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, I figured it out but there's one problem...I created an image that is 1440x854, but android makes you crop the image into a 1.125:1 ratio (equivalance of 2 screens), so unfortunately (at least as far as I have been able to find so far) my previous example is as good as it is going to get. The image will be able to span all 3 screens, but there will be some overlap between the screens since your background image will be 960x854 and not 1440x854.

    As you can see below, the 1st and 3rd screens combine to make the full 960x854 image, and the main screen (2nd) just displays whatever is in the middle.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2009
  15. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    that is pretty cool! looks good!
  16. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so splitting an image that = x3 monitors would work...excellent
  17. Champers
    Offline

    Champers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no...you don't set a picture for each screen
  18. holytotemic
    Offline

    holytotemic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh man that stinks....but as i said b4...

    su
    nano xorg.conf

    lol...someone will figure out how....i trust the linux community
  19. ckidwell
    Offline

    ckidwell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I wish I knew what video review of the droid it was, I think I've watched them all the past couple of days! But they said you will only have the 3 screens, no more.
  20. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep that sucks. verizon should implement this change asap OR upload whatever hack someone implements to fix this.
Search tags for this page

android spanning wallpaper