1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

background data usage

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by handyman79, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. handyman79
    Offline

    handyman79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on GB i usually had this turned off cause i didn't need to be updated automatically on my apps and emails. now i with ICS i can't figure out how to turn that off with out shutting off something else? ill get text messages one time, and then another i wont?

    also i noticed when i had the background data turned off on GB that the 3G was white, telling me it was for certain off. now seems like the 3G is always blue. any help would be appreciated.
  2. antoniotaj
    Offline

    antoniotaj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been looking for the answer myself. ics is great but its a little more complicated for things like this
  3. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Did you try Settings -> Data usage -> Menu -> Restrict background data?

    Since it says "restrict," I don't know if that does exactly the same thing as turning off background data did on Gingerbread, but at the very least it seems that it would cut some out.
  4. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I too was wondering what "Restrict Background Data means?
  5. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Looking forward to one of you genius' to give us the answer.
  6. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Found this info for ICS:

    View or restrict data usage

    Some apps transfer data in the background—that is, when you're not actually using the app, it may download data for future reference. Restricting background data usage for individual apps can sometimes be a useful way to reduce your overall data usage. However, this is a drastic measure that may also affect the app's performance or cause it to malfunction. Check whether data usage can be restricted from the app's own settings (available from within the app) before restricting it here.
  7. Ghostwheel
    Offline

    Ghostwheel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    When I tried to enable it, it said I need to set a data limit first. Huh? Think I'll stick with Juice Defender.
  8. paulhusker
    Offline

    paulhusker New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm confused on this "background data restricted" message. Is there a simple setting we can set to not get this message? I've tried everything. Frustrated!!

    Thanks!!
  9. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I agree its very annoying. It keeps showing up on my notification bar. Have not figured out how to get rid of it.
  10. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,259
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    This is because of smart actions battery extender I think. It turns off background data sync when your screen times out, and then when you wake the phone up, it takes a second to kick it back on. As far as the notification... idk what you could do about that.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  11. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,259
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    In system settings, setting a data limit and then limiting background data on certain apps gives you more control over that app sucking data down when you don't want it to. So essentially it keeps the app from using data when not in use.

    Probably a good thing to have if you're on a share everything or a tiered plan.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  12. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I wonder if the notification appears when you open an app that typically requires background data and because that app is not doing the background data stuff that it typically should, the phone guess you an alert to let you know that the app is limited because background data is restricted??

    Or maybe it is Verizon's twist on ICS to annoy the he!* out of you so you get sick of seeing the notification and decide to un-restrict background data just so you don't have to keep getting the annoying notifications and you therefore end up using more data increasing the likelihood that you go over which gives verizon more overage charges.
  13. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for your response. I'm on unlimitted plan and dont really want to set a data limit. I sort of thought it had something to do with the Smart Actions (Battery Extender) I have set. Thats fine. I will deal with it. :)
  14. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,259
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Glad I could help :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  15. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, so can you limit background data for certain apps? I'd like to disable everything but my Mail app from syncing and doing crap in the background. Is real-time push notifications occur from background data as well?
  16. fullhouse451
    Offline

    fullhouse451 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    background data restriction error

    I had the same problem with my razr maxx. I have spent ALL day on the phone with motorola since verizon didn't know how to fix. This is what they told me. go to settings-data usage-touch the bottom button on your phone with the lines (left most button). THERE is your data restriction setting. make sure it is unchecked. Mine was so she had me check it..go back to data usage and checked the 'set data usage limit' then go all the way out..then go in and uncheck everything..shut phone on and off.and FIXED..YEA!
  17. Parzec
    Offline

    Parzec New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another situation to be aware of is
    corporate email can disable background data while roaming if that feature is set by the exchange server administrator. It will override your phones settings for background data.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR maxx from Droid Forums
  18. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I tried this procedure and it didnt work for me :-(
  19. sgould12
    Offline

    sgould12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Figured it out!

    This worked for me. Go to smart actions then click the three line button at the bottom of the phone next to the home button on the left. Click settings. Then remove the check that says display status notifications.
  20. bousquetcm
    Offline

    bousquetcm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Smart Settings is almost there

    So Smart Settings is 85% of the way there. This was annoying me with i <3 Radio constantly shutting off when the phone sleeps. So go to Apps > Smart Actions > Battery Extender and drag Background Sync off. Remember to hit "save" in the top right before returning home. If you would like gps data as well (helpful for jogging apps), then just delete the rule.

    Then enjoy your streams and apps while the phone's display is locked and off. w00t!
Search tags for this page
droid forums how to minimize data usage droid max
,
droid maxx background data
,
how to restrict background data in gingerbread
,
how to restrict background data on gingerbread
,
is restrict background on or off when checked
,
restrict background data means on android
,
unrestrict background data
,

what does background data restricted mean

,
what does background mean on data usage
,
what does background restricted mean
,
what does it mean to restrict background data
,

what does restrict background data mean

,
what does restricting back ground data on your phone do
,

what is restrict background data

,
what is restrict background data mean