Background apps that are running and I havent even used....

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by jimmythegent, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Totally new to this forum, just finally got my first smart phone, Droid RAZR HD, I LOVE IT!!!!

    I do not like though the massive memory that takes up space from these background apps running.... for instance, right now, though NFC is turned off, Nfc Service is running in the background. Why? And also, why when I kill the apps with Task Killer, they friggin return?

    Bad enough the phone only has 1 GB of memory, but to have only a hundred or so megs free hurts the phones performance.

    I have used the app killer back to back and once freed up 350 megs. But then just goes back down to 100 or so free megs.

    Any ideas?

    James
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hey James.

    This is a misconception. Android keeps apps running (using RAM) in the background so it can access them easier and it actually helps the phones performance. As long as they aren't using CPU then you are fine.

    Task killers don't work like they do on a computer for these phones and the general consensus is to stay away from them.

    Edit: I also moved this topic to the HD section.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I appreciate the info and understand, yes, it makes access to them faster but if I never used or use NFC, why would that be running in the background? And I too find the task killer absolutely pointless as they come right back.

    But as stated I thought there may be an app that will keep things that you have no use for out of the background, and out of my RAM. Also, the whole reason for RAM is to make it faster for CPU to access that program, so in theory, I would think an overload in RAM would actually have an effect on the processor, if not, then there would be no need for RAM, just ROM.

    James
  4. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    What you could do and I don't know if you have root or not. Without root you can try disabling apps from your Settings> Apps> "All" which if you do not have root or superuser access, some system settings and apps may not be able to be disabled, (also I suggest to click the check box for Don't keep activities, that is listed in Settings> Developer options> Apps> Don't keep activities.) If you are rooted you can safely freeze some of these useless running apps, I suggest to Freeze rather than Delete as "deleting" can cause problems in the long run. Anyhow, here is a list of all the apps that can be safely removed, click here.
  5. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When I go to Settings, the Apps, it said I had to install the new software for Apps, so I did, now its saying that it doesnt exist anymore??? I remember once being able to "Force Stop" apps with out the Task Killer.

    What or how do I get back to where it shows me whats running in the background? Confused now....
  6. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Correct you did have the ability to Force Stop apps. Basically it sounds like you are interested in 2 functions within the Settings 1)Battery and 2)Apps. Take a look at the Apps, what is "Running" and also check out the Show Cached Processes. I tend not to use either of these Settings to monitor activity, instead I use the Pro version of this app, click here for the free version, it will provide you with some very helpful information.
  7. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks! Nice App, quick question, that maybe you know.

    When I put the phone on speaker... right.... and the screen goes out, why is there NO way to get it back off speaker? The ONLY thing I am able to to do is end the call by hitting the power button, what the hell is that all about?

    Is there a setting where I can specifically set, that if I am on speaker phone, some how I can go back and turn it off without ending the call?

    THNX!
  8. WindowsHat3r
    Offline

    WindowsHat3r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have the power button as end call in your settings you can take it off. That's what your problem is.

    WindowsHat3r
  9. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Settings - accessibility and turn of "power button ends call."

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  10. finndo77
    Offline

    finndo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know, I know, I keep posting on old threads...

    But since a lot of these topics are Android specific and not specific to any Droid, I have some experience with them from my previous device ownerships. I do not use and did not like it when I tried it, BUT Juice Defender may help you a lot with your battery issues, I have been told you can change the priority of certain apps, so they are "less likely" to load in the background, that way for apps you don't use, but don't want to remove in case you need it...

    It also can manipulate your radios (turn gps on or off, wifi, and cellular data)
  11. zaphodity
    Offline

    zaphodity New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I was worried about the same thing, couldn't understand why they would be running. Which is part of the reason I
    searched for a forum like this one. Keen to learn as much as I can. As for the phone, it's my first smartphone as well.
    VERY happy thus far with my purchase.
  12. jimmythegent
    Offline

    jimmythegent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah, its a cool phone. nice display, too. Just dont like the stuff floating in the background. Some say its "nothing", well if thats so then it should be no big deal to rid of them without rooting.
  13. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    You know if you want to try to reduce what is running in the background> take a look at this Bloatware Removal thread> while it is based on 4.1.1 and there a slight changes to the app versions on 4.1.2, for the most part I highlighted what the Bloatware items are. I cannot say that I remember removing much from when I was unrooted, but if you go into your Settings> go to Apps> slide the screen to the far right and should say "All", those are all of the apps installed, just open the ones you do not want and "Disable" them (that is the ones that are safe to disable as I mentioned in the Bloatware thread) , I should note, that without Root, often if your Device Reboots or is turned off and restarts, those Disabled apps may re-appear. If you interested in Rooting I suggest this thread> http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ra...t-hacking/237461-tool-easy-root-komplete.html which there is an excellent single click root method available for 4.1.2, just download, extract, plug your device in, hit the "run.bat" follow screen prompts and you have Root. If for some reason you try this and don't enjoy it, try this app costs all of $.99 and Root will be gone forever.
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
Search tags for this page

droid razr apps running in background

,
droid razr maxx apps running
,

how do i close apps on my droid razr

,
how to close apps on droid maxx
,

how to close apps on droid razr

,

how to close running apps on droid razr

,

how to stop apps from running on droid razr

,
how to stop apps on droid razr
,

how to stop running apps on droid razr

,

how to stop running apps on droid razr maxx

,
how to stop running apps on razr maxx
,
motorola razr apps running in background