Back up question

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by AngelRyuxz, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. AngelRyuxz

    AngelRyuxz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    4AM question lol..... Just came to me, but do I need a custom recovery or a bootstrap in order to do back ups, or can it be done with titanium pro?

    Sent from overclocked DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that is rooted using Tapatalk.
     
  2. DThomp

    DThomp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A full backup, or a nandroid, is exactly how your phone was at that point in time. Everything is backed up, like a restore point on your computer. Titanium only backs up apps and app data, both your apps and system apps. Alot of people have had problems using TB to back up data when coming from a wipe. I don't use it as I have less than 100 apps total on my phone including system apps. I use on the fly backup or my backup pro both of which put your apps in a folder on your memory card and when you need them just go in through Astro or whatever file manager you like to reinstall your apps.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  3. DThomp

    DThomp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry but to do a nandroid, you will need the bootstrap.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  4. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
  5. t.crawford714

    t.crawford714 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Darn you Droid-Xer :D Being up at 5am...But yes, use that guide to make a backup/restore a backup. It is a very nice guide :icon_ banana:
     
  6. AngelRyuxz

    AngelRyuxz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys I'll try it, but will a custom booststrap mess with a ota update? And if so how would I undo it, just uninstall?

    Edit
    Oh and doing a backup will let me restore everything if I had to sbf?

    Sent from overclocked DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that is rooted using Tapatalk.
     
  7. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Lol. Sorry I have weird hours of operation! I help here when dx forum is dead
     
  8. t.crawford714

    t.crawford714 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do not restore an old backup if you backed up before the .340 update and then restore a backup from an old update.

    Yes you could restore everything if you had to .sbf
     
  9. AngelRyuxz

    AngelRyuxz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you, and do you mean if I backed up on a old update then I update to a new one I wouldn't use that back up I should make a new one of that update? And if could answer, will a custom bootstrap mess with a ota update?

    Edit
    Please reply lol... It always comes to this... I guess I ask too much or something someone doesn't understand or know.

    Sent from overclocked DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that is rooted using Tapatalk.
     
  10. t.crawford714

    t.crawford714 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to leave you hanging.

    I couldn't take the .340 ota then restored and then I didn't delete bootstrap so you should be able to take the update. If you have problems look at the bootstrap guide in my sig. That should tell you how to delete it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App