Back up before root?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by old no. 7, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been reading around and seeing a nandroid restore or something along these lines? What exactly is it? I'm assuming it's to back it up incase you do something wrong when you go to root it?
    An explanation would be great.
    Thanks.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    read this thread: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html

    You pretty much have it nailed down.

    The nandroid directory is where you can do a recovery. It is where your backup can be or maybe you don't have a backup. With sprecovery you can install "something" ...your backup, another rom, etc if you somehow mess things up as root.
  3. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To make a nandroid back you must be rooted fist and have a flash recovery image. Although i f you have this recovery image you gan get the the go back to stock back up. In my signature
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    You are absolutely correct! Nandroid is a file on your SD card that is used to store backups that allow you to replace a rom you may have installed, recover should you mess something up, or even return to stock.

    The two posts above mine provide two different approaches. Let us know what option you choose. Remember that if you have problems someone will be here to assist.

    Mike
  5. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok cool. I'm looking at the [how to] Easily install blah blah blah one.
    It's pretty detailed. I'm usually pretty good at this stuff, but I don't want to risk anything with my phone you know? haha
    Thanks guys
  6. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, everytime I go into recovery and go to apply sdcard update.zip, it says it can't do it and operation aborted. What's up? I've downloaded update.zip a few times. Also, whenever I download it, it isn't saving as a .zip. I have to add that in myself. And I don't think it's hiding it because when I right click > properties, it says update, and when I ad .zip, it says update.zip. could there be something wrong with the file I'm using?
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Are you by chance using a Mac and Safari? I use a Mac and when I used Safari my preference settings were not allowing the .zip. I switched to FireFox. When I downloaded the files they had the .zip extension and everything worked just fine.

    Mike
  8. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah, I'm on Windows 7 with Internet Explorer. I'll give Firefox a shot in a few minutes.
    Thanks
  9. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it Rooted, and I'm looking in the guide posted above. So SPRecovery replaces the stock recovery 'system' and allows me to have backup the phone, so if something were to go wrong, I could restore it to a working state? I'm trying to figure out what's going on and not just blindly follow directions lol
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Great! What process did you use, what ROm did you install, and are you glad you rooted?

    Mike
  11. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm not positive. From what I've read there are two ways of installing roms after you have rooted. Matth3W's way and the Nandroid way. Both ways use the nandroid file, in a different way, I think. Like you, I followed Matth3W's instructions which in step 24 creates a folder called "nandroid". However, if I'm reading the information in the link you included, AdamZ is using the Nandroid process.

    The process Matth3W's provided links to Pete Alfonso. I think Pete has instructions for both but Matt did not follow the nandropid.

    I hope that someone with more expertise that me replies. If not. perhaps you should start a new thread.

    Mike
  14. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, maybe. I'll start one tomorrow if I don't get replies here. Thanks man.
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Someone just posted a new thread "what version of SPrecovery do i need?"

    Why don't you post your question there? Hopefully someone will be able to provide you with the correct answer.

    I know you want AdamZ's Smoked Glass theme but if you don't get a response on either post I would follow Matt's instruction and install Pete's latest release. I know that you can switch from one to the other.

    Sorry I was not able to provide more help.

    Mike
  16. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Just sent you a PM about switching from BB to Smoked Glass or go here
    (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24679-adamz-rom-install.html)


    Mike
  17. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I did like you did. I started with Matt's thread. That got me rooted and got SPRecovery installed. Next I did a backup.

    Then I moved on and installed Adam's 4.5 Smoked Glass rom. I basically skipped his instructions that did a bunch of stuff to get SPRecovery set up and just needed to apply his rom using sprecovery.

    The only confusing part for me was that I had to go into "backup" to select the rom I wanted to "restore". See the last few entries on my thread below.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24555-time-root-rom-5.html#post250681

    Basicallly, download his rom and place it in the Nandroid folder on your card. Then restore that rom with the default settings. All your apps, all your data, all your contacts....will come along for the ride. Even your wallpaper will be there. I then grabbed the wireless tether apk from Adamz page too.

    First 24 hrs I ran at 900mhz. I'm at 1000 now. good luck.
  18. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm glad you got it working. Let me know how you like it and if it is stable.

    Mike
  19. old no. 7
    Offline

    old no. 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the help guys. I'll let you all know how it works for me.
Search tags for this page

back up phone before root

,
backup before root the phone
,
backup before rooting
,
before rooting your phone
,
best way to backup current rom before root, note 2
,
do you back up before root or after
,
go back to before root
,

how to back up droid before root

,
how to back up droid before root?
,
how to backup my android phone before rooting
,
what to back up before you root
,
what to backup after root