back up assistance

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by BLAZE86DUBZ, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im haveing problems with my backup assistance i keep getting a error that says incorrect pic i got this error before what i did was did factory reset and it fixed it for a few months then it did it again is there anyway to fix this without doing a reset? i herd u can also use google as a back up assistant how do i go about doing this>?
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Open contacts, press menu key, and export to SD and your contacts will be there. Or you can go online to your VZW account and find your info there from backup asst.
  3. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a way to disable back up assistant and does google update itself or have to manually do it?
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    You can freeze BUAsst only if you're rooted using Titanium Backup. you have to manually export contacts. Sign into your gmail and you can send yourself your phonebook as well. The easiest way for me is to just go to contacts and export to SD
  5. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so is there anyway to fix the backup error? with out a factory reset?
  6. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SinCity
    Just stop using it altogether. Export your contacts to your sdcard, import them to gmail and your done. Any contact you add from then on would be backed up in gmail and you can get rid of backup assistant or even stop it from syncing.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  7. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i have to be rooted or if i save them first to my sd card before i do the factory reset then when they ask u to use backup assistant just skip that step
  8. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SinCity
    No root necessary, and yes you could skip that step. Use gmail or import them yourself.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  9. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok I saved them to my sd card and exported them to gmail now does google I update every night or do I have to manually do it if I add a new contact? And also how do I find my phone contacts on my sd card could I delete them since there on gmail now?
Search tags for this page

droid bionic only backs up some contact information

,

droid x backup assistant memory card error

,

searcback up assistanceh

,

what is back up asistance