Back to Liberty 2.0.1 from LGB thru toolbox?

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by GeneRs, May 4, 2011.

  1. GeneRs

    GeneRs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm close to purchasing the donate version of Liberty Toolbox so I can try LGB with an easy install. But, if I prefer to go back to Liberty 2.0.1, can I revert thru the toolbox? Even better, can I restore a backup thru bootstrap or do I have to sbf back to a previous OS before restoring a backup?

    I have been more than happy running Liberty 2.0 with the PuRe theme but I'm so damn curious about Liberty Gingerbread. I just wanna be prepared if I decide LGB ain't no thang, ya know?

    Thanx for any help and advice provided.
     
  2. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm in the same space as you. Hopefully we get an answer. It seems that we would have to sbf or do the monster zip thing.

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
     
  3. Fanatic1074

    Fanatic1074 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    Ratings:
    +0

    +1, Im in exactly the same situation except i have bought the donate version and have downloaded .5 hoping for someone to answer this.
     
  4. cubsfan187

    cubsfan187 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    The answer you guys need is....sbf back to froyo. If you try a nandroid it will send you into a bootloop. I like the maderstock.zip but sbf'ing is always better. It assures you that you are starting fresh. Hope that helps!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. GeneRs

    GeneRs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uuuuuuugh. I'm scared to death of SBFing. I have had the Maderstock zip on my PC since I first rooted just in case I need it. Guess I have a ton off research and soul searching to do. Maybe some weekend when I'm feeling adventurous I will give this a shot.

    Thanx a ton for the quick feedback "cubsfan".
     
    #5 GeneRs, May 4, 2011
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  6. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was nervous about it too but it's a fairly simple process and you can do it in about 20 min give or take.

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
     
  7. cubsfan187

    cubsfan187 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0

    No problem! Glad I could answer something for a change....lol. SBF'ing is fairly easy to do. As long as you get a good dl of the sbf file it goes pretty fast and does it all on it's own. I was scared to death of it when I first got my X (and didn't make a backup of stock after rooting) then needed to get back to stock for the OTA update. Do your reading on it though. It will make it fast and painless to do then. Once you do it, you won't have a problem trying something new on your phone cause you will always have a way back to stock.

    Now the reason a nandroid will not work from GB to Froyo is that the kernal changed in the newest release of GB. If you tried to run that in Froyo it would do nothing but bootloop. There's more to it than that but that I believe is the main reason it won't work.
     
    #7 cubsfan187, May 5, 2011
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  8. GeneRs

    GeneRs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geez... If it's a different kernel, will Droid X Overclock still work if I decide to install LGB? Lots of questions, I know. And I'm sorry. But I gotta get all my ducks in a row before I shoot, ya know?
     
  9. cubsfan187

    cubsfan187 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I can say that it does not work on my X. Now I am on regular .591 Gingerbread not Liberty (yet). It tells me that I have no overclock module on my phone. Milestone overclock still works though. But with as snappy as GB is, there really isn't a reason to oc it.

    And don't worry about all the questions. Better to have the answers first then try it. Very good approach if you ask me.
     
Search tags for this page

dx toolbox for motorola milestone x