back to 2.01

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by chadwick02, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. chadwick02

    chadwick02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, so ive never rooted my phone, but now i want to since 2.1 sucks, and theres nothing really new about it. I did the manual update to 2.1 by placing the update file in my root folder of the sd card, and i am currently running 2.1. How on earth do i get back to 2.01 if possible and is there any way to do it without risking messing up my phone? thanks
     
  2. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the forum, chadwick02. There's a way to go back to 2.0.1 and root, but be a little patient. I have it on good authority that rooting 2.1 is right around the corner. Your choice, but I'd hang on for a couple of days and see what happens... Hope you enjoy your time here!

    :welcome:
     
  3. chadwick02

    chadwick02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha, wow that was a quick response..i like it..lol.. well i'd really like to get ultimate droid 9.8 up and running on my droid..but would you suggest to wait? or is it easy to put it back to 2.01 stock and then root from there and get ultimate droid up
     
  4. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, we have folks that can help you with that. Is that what you want to do? Tonight?:shocked:
     
  5. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was thinking about rooting mine tonight also. I'm getting a bit jealous of all the over clocking and things you can do with a rooted Droid. The only reason I really was waiting for the 2.1 was for pinch to zoom and worried about losing Warranty on my phone. If they are getting close to being able to root 2.1 then I might wait, if it's going to be awhile then I want to go ahead and root mine.
     
  6. chadwick02

    chadwick02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, id def like to do that..time for some new features for me..lol
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,405
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    if you've got the 2.1 OTA you will have to flash the sbf with rsd lite, root, then can flash 2.1. There's a guide for doing this in here, will link if you need it.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you link the thread please. I found it earlier but don't want to search through endless threads tonight when I get home to do this. Thanks in advance.
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,405
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
  10. chadwick02

    chadwick02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    do we do the first thing even if we arent rooted at the time, and just want to get back to 2.01?
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,405
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Yes you have to do the first one because 2.1 is not currently rootable. You have to go back to 2.0.1, root then install the modified 2.1
     
  12. chadwick02

    chadwick02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oo ok..and does it matter on which one to use, the 32 or 64 bit?

    *** scratch that, im an idiot..ok ill give it a whirl..lol
     
    #12 chadwick02, Apr 8, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010