Average OC Temp.?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hondaguy520, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    What would be an average temp for being over clocked and settings of 125-1000 on demand while in sleep or running a not very demanding app like an im client? Mine is getting up to 43C when I'm not really doing anything, and my battery has decreased by 20% within 45 mins of standby, normal?
  2. DroidBoy22
    Offline

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using SetCPU?
  3. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes running petes newest 2.1 w/ chevys 10slot kernal
  4. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    That does sound high.. mine cruises at 36c as I'm writing this with my Droid right now... running DroidMod... SetCPU at 250/1000... and on wifi.... screen brightness set to lowest setting and been online for about an hour now... battery just dropped the first notch down to 80%

    Seems to run warm and kill battery like that only when I'm playing a game.... Robo Defence is a heater battery eater like what you got goin on...
  5. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    i know, currently ive had it pluged in for 8 hours to the wall, and its only up to 80% from 20, and the temp is up to 44C and i just woke up...i dont know wtf my phone is doing, should i try a different kernel?
  6. toddegreene
    Offline

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow that seems high. Raise your minimum to 250, I read that some people have problems with 125. Then try lowering your maximum, some Droids have higher tolerances than others. If those fail, try another kernel, maybe a low voltage one, or one with a lower max.
  7. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are you using the motorola charger?? Charging for 8hrs is rediculous ... the motorola charger is running 850mAh and should charge faster than that

    Also... check your phone when it's on idle... it sounds like you have apps still running using a lot of processor when you think the phone is supposedly in standby
  8. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    yea im using the motorola charger, and i dont have any apps running , where do i find one of adamz kernels low voltage? for ese53..i can only find the .img and i dont know how to get it working with that type of file
  9. toddegreene
    Offline

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't played with this yet, AdamZ, but I believe you can choose your kernel after installing. It contains 21 5 slot kernels, 7 each high, medium and low voltage.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  10. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    is there anyway to not dl the rom? i have petes rom, and would like to stick with his work
  11. JayCizzo
    Offline

    JayCizzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've always ran coolest using Chevy's kernels. Have you tried any of his other ones? I'm currently running his 1GHZ 5-slot with no issues, of course it's on his ROM not Pete's.
  12. toddegreene
    Offline

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just opened the file and it looks like only OC kernels. Are you in a Guinea pig mood?
  13. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    yea ive tried like 4 different kernels through chevy, i guess ill just have to try a different rom/kernel
  14. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3

    haha what you got in mind?
  15. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    oh so it just says rom but its acutally just kernels for oc? its not going to change rom/theme?