Available phone storage space

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Lloyds, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Lloyds
    Offline

    Lloyds New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably not related to SS but it's not something I experienced before I started running it so just in case posting here.

    I've been getting warnings regarding low available space on the phone. When I check I'm down to around 25MB.

    The thing is that I'm not adding any programs at this point. And just a couple weeks ago I had about 60MB of space. Now, I did download some updates and I'm suspecting that might be a factor here. And some of those updates included apps that were part of SS, so not sure if that makes a difference.

    Any suggestions?
  2. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've been having that issue too. i just keep installing and uninstalling apps... hey what can i say i install a boat load of games and play them and uninstall later... BUT i have gotten a few notices saying my messaging was full and texts were not being received. theres gotta be a temp file that keeps filling up some where... any pro's have other ideas?
  3. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make sure you clear your cache. CacheMate has a nice app that will clear it for you and offers a free version. also, I found that when I clear my dalvik cache it frees up a nice chunk of space. so if you havent done those two, or havent done them in awhile I suggest you try it out to see if it helps.
  4. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, knowing what is the culprit helps too, so try the app Disk Usage.

    Yeah, yeah.. I'm on my phone. So?
  5. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    You can also clear dalvik cache in terminal.

    Enter

    Su
    CD /data/dalvik-cache
    Rm *
    reboot


    Include space after CD and rm

    Reboot takes a little longer than usual be patient.
  6. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    thanks trying this for me.
  7. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    np! others have recommended doing this every few weeks to clean up the cache. It makes your phone snappy again and increases battery life just a little.


    I typed it from my phone...its not necessary to use caps, all lowercase is fine.
  8. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    App data including your call history, contacts, etc. contributes to your phone storage space as well.
  9. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    just downloaded cachemate myself. Pretty convenient to have the widget on your desktop. Even though it autoclears whatever you want to set it to (time intervals). Its default is 6 hours!!! ...I changed it to 2 days.
  10. dboss007
    Offline

    dboss007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You can also use Titanium Backup to clear your Dalvik Cache. VERY easy!
  11. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Titanium though doesn't actually clear the cache, it looks for 'entries' in the cache that are no longer needed and gets rid of those. In the end though, you probably get a similar result since wiping the whole cache then rebooting results in the cache being recreated with just the 'needed' items.
  12. Lloyds
    Offline

    Lloyds New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the great replies.

    I went ahead and cleared my dalvik cache. Never heard to do that before. I went from 32MB of free phone memory to 52MB!

    I do have Cache Cleaner but I don't think it clears the cache automatically. I might give Cache Mate a whirl and see if that help.

    Maybe Chevy can include a dalvik cache wipe script in 4.8???
  13. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Already taken care of ;)
Search tags for this page

lg apex low on space

,
lg us740 apex low memory message