Available Memory / RAM Question

mr_brady

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the whole Droid scene (from a Blackberry Storm). Please let me know if this is 'normal' for a Droid X using Liberty 1.5...

Upon bootup, I have 140-160mb of free RAM according to my Widgetsoid battery toggle. Within an hour or so it goes down to 35-60mb and the phone starts running more sluggish. This is without really running any strenuous apps. If I use Pandora, it drops a bit further.

Is this normal?

Mustang02

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6P/5X
No, not normal at all. I usually have 120 to 130mb free at all times of the day. I've never seen it go down like that.

droid fetish

Reaction score
80 TO 100MB lost in an hour? not normal. list the apps you have installed. Im usually down to 75 or 80 after about 16hrs of use, I reboot each morning to start afresh, What have you tweaked in Liberty? Maybe reflash to set everything back to stock and see what it does.

OP
mr_brady

mr_brady

Reaction score
80 TO 100MB lost in an hour? not normal. list the apps you have installed. Im usually down to 75 or 80 after about 16hrs of use, I reboot each morning to start afresh, What have you tweaked in Liberty? Maybe reflash to set everything back to stock and see what it does.

I reboot multiple times each day as well. I previously had tried the Liberty Battery Tweak Framework, as well as the Sysctl changes listed on other threads. Since then I have SBF'ed the latest .340 fresh ROM and re-installed Liberty 1.5 with the Revolution Remix Theme. No other theme tweaks, except animation changes and ad blocking.

Just rebooted, RAM showed 182MB free. The phone has been in standby for the last 10 minutes and it's down to 150MB free. Loaded the Applications Screen to show installed Applications and it's down to 130MB.

Apps listed in the 'Downloaded' section of Manage Applications:
aCar
Adobe Flash Player 10.1
Adobe Reader
Airport Mania
AirSync
Alarm Clock Plus
Amazon
Androidify