Automatically overclocking & setcpu question?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by hrdnhvy, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the automatic overclocking in bb v0.4 do the profile settings in setcpu for when screen is off apply, or is the speed always automatically determined by the rom.

    I have also noticed in a few other roms have scripts such as "free50mb" "free100mb" mem, do yours have any such scripts?

    Thanks for your time.
     
  2. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you want to run the profiles you need to run Setcpu over the top, otherwise it will be set at your highest kernal slot all the time (on demand scaling of course).
     
  3. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    Thanks for the quick reply, so then how do u run it over top? Im still a newbie to a lot of this stuff.

    Does it autoclock regardless of whos kernel it may be? (chevy, p3, jdlfg, etc).
     
    #3 hrdnhvy, Jul 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  4. hacku

    hacku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just install SetCPU and set the profiles.
     
  5. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought set cpu would kill itself on petes roms and resort back to his custom overclocking script?
     
  6. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It auto clocks to the highest available setting no matter the kernal.
     
  7. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    [QUOTE

    I thought set cpu would kill itself on petes roms and resort back to his custom overclocking script?[/QUOTE]

    No. It's the other way around - setcpu kills Pete's script.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. It's the other way around - setcpu kills Pete's script.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

    Oh im sorry I had BB at one point and could of sworn I saw that posted somewhere.
     
  9. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Killed

    Yes it seems the rom overrides setcpu, i have noticed after a re-boot even with setcpu to "set on boot" it clocks/sets to the highest speed.
     
  10. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im pretty sure thats the case I know I read it strait from Pete unless Im losing it.. :) Could someone clear this up with fact please?
     
  11. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I appreciate the work Pete has done with the scripts, but setCPU is a required app for any serious overclocker. The ability to set profiles alone is worth using the app.
     
  12. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree my droid has never ran quicker, smoother & with less hangs, I guess the devil is in the details..lol....

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk