Autokiller Memory Problems

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by aggiechase37, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. aggiechase37

    aggiechase37 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm using Autokiller. (btw I'm on CM 6.1 rc3, not that this changes anything, or seems to change anything at least). Seems like no matter what setting I put Autokiller on, it'll get through a day, but after that I slowly start to see free memory available begin to decline. Finally when it starts reaching the 30's in terms of free MB's in RAM, the phone begins to run sluggish. When I reboot the phone, it says that there is a little over 70 MB available. With my phone, anytime there is 50MB or more free RAM, it absolutely flies. So I guess the question is: is there a way to keep more than 50MB free at all times? Ultimately that is what I think I'd like to do. I'll post my phone stats here for your perusal if it helps.

    CM 6.1 rc3
    LP
    Chevy (kernel from 8-1) 125mhz-800mhz med voltage.
    conservative setting in setcpu
    Autokiller set to extreme

    So is there a setting in autokiller to stay above 50mb free? Or maybe some kind of terminal emulator command or something?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. aggiechase37

    aggiechase37 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    So yeah, no matter what trick I use, and I've used everything from the terminal emulator trick (which by the way is that persistent or do I have to do that everytime I reboot?) to checking the box to keep launcher in memory. But it doesn't matter. If autokiller shows below about 43 MB to be free, it is redraw city. Anything above 50MB snaps back to homescreen like nobody's business. Anyone have any answers out there?
     
  3. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. loudaccord

    loudaccord Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +4
    Autokillers/Task Killers do nothing but eat up your battery and cause all kinds of problems.

    Remove them from you phone.
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1!



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  7. aggiechase37

    aggiechase37 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know I know. I hate task killers too. But auto killer just modifies how android does it's own tasks killing. So not quite the same thing. I don't care what I have on my phone. I just want the free ram to be above fifty. Color me say satisfied if this happens one way or another.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    The thing is it doesn't have to be modified or enhanced in any way. Why don't you remove it for a few days and see if your performance improves


    Sent from my Droid
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well let me share with you my experience with Auto Killer. IIRC there are 3 recommended points to try. I tried them all. Now while it didn't hurt my Droid, it did absolutely nothing in regards to saving battery, which was what I thought it was for.

    Performance I saw no difference. Now I run a stock D2 and the performance is consistently good. I never, ever look at the app memory because I know this is a Droid, not a Blackberry. If you have to worry about that type of stuff then maybe you should try another ROM.
     
  10. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, just because the memory is being used doesn't mean that it is full of running apps. Most are actually "frozen" until the phone needs it again.

    I would try tracking down a poorly coded app that could be causing the problem.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. tommyk2005

    tommyk2005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just use a task killer for unresponsive programs. no need for 1 on froyo. they kill a battery very easily all by themselves
     
Search tags for this page

autokiller memory