Auto-rotate

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by dnyor93, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. dnyor93
    Offline

    dnyor93 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I flashed the Liberty 1.5 with the get r done tool works fine but my screen doesn't auto rotate? And I can't get it to rotate from landscape to portrate
    Help?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    i could be wrong but i think that's one of the known issues for the rommer tool.
     
  3. dnyor93
    Offline

    dnyor93 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and if I were to flash a theme for liberty would I have to flash the rom tool?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure about that one.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. Fer
    Offline

    Fer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you wouldn't
     
  6. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is a known issue with the Romer and i believe the developers are working on it.... There is a sensor zip that you need to flash in addition to the romer to help you with the screen auto rotate (sensors) issue... elaborately described here (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ge...rom-er-tool-tool-convert-d2-roms-use-d2g.html) for your ease i am pasting it below here as well...[D2G_Sensors.zip]

    what this will do is to enable the sensors that check the screen rotate issue


    BEST OF LUCK.dancedroiddancedroid.. feel free to ask questions if you have any more issues there are a lot of people more knowledgeable you and me !!!
     
  7. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Basically, the sensors (less basically, the files and/or drivers for the sensors) are very different for the global than for the 2.

    If you want the sensors to work without rebooting the phone constantly, you need to keep the screen on (and possibly the phone running a program) at ALL times.

    All in all, it wasnt as much of a hassl as I thought not having sensors. They released a 'fix' to have the keyboard lights enable wihout sensors as well, but granted it can be dodgy at times.

    Liberty 1.5 is an amazing ROM, i wish they made a release specifically for our phones.
     
  8. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    to answer this question, NO you DO NOT have to flash the Romer or sensor tool. It only have to flashed once when you flash the ROM and then changing the theme does not require you to flash the tools again..

    Also one more thing, when you go to the toolbox in Liberty it might say that you do not have the latest version, just ignore it you are still fine... There is a way to get rid of the old version pop up but i will not worry about it as it is a error code and has to do nothing with you not being able to take advantage of the liberty toolbox to change anything on the ROM (theme etc.)
    Enjoy!!:icon_ banana:
     
  9. cricketson007
    Offline

    cricketson007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had same issue with sensors but fixed that. Don't think it's related but when I try to turn off screen it turns off then a few seconds later reboots and stays on lock screen. Any ideas?

    Sent from Liberated DROID2 GLOBAL
     
  10. carbanm
    Offline

    carbanm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you look at the thread regarding sensor issues, the problem you're having is basically the entire purpose of the sensors tool (which is to turn off the sensors so they don't force the phone to soft reboot when it goes to sleep), basically, either you have sensors, or a functional phone. It does look like soon there will be some native D2G roms other than just Fission, especially with P3droid looking for a D2G to purchase for dev purposes.

    TL;DR- Sensors on=phone reboots itself, Sensors off=phone doesn't reboot itself
     
  11. Asphyx
    Offline

    Asphyx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Vegas - New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't anyone read the known issues list before they blindly go and flash a rom?

    I mean would you eat something without looking to find out if it is food or poison before you put it in your mouth?

    Guys just a word of advice. Read everything associated with a ROM you intend to flash not just once but at least FIVE TIMES!

    It will stop you from posting dumb questions and it will prevent you from screwing up your phone to a state beyond repair!

    If you don't read and know what to expect and what can go wrong or don't bother to look and see if something is actually going to run on your phone your only going to be making lots and lots of bricks!

    ROmer is a great tool to allow you to run D2 roms on a D2G.
    Whatever doesn't work is CLEARLY stated by the developers!

    LOOK before you LEAP!
     
Similar Threads
  1. RobStemen
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,340
  2. kizer8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    719
  3. RobotRon
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    13,821
  4. JFrawls
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    5,594
  5. bravefart
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,739
Loading...
Search tags for this page
what does auto rotate mean
,
what does auto rotate pages mean
,

what does auto rotate screen mean

,

what does auto rotation mean

,
what does auto rotation mean on a cell phone
,

what does auto rotation mean on my phone

,
what does auto rotation mean on samsung phone
,
what does rotation mean on my phone
,
what is auto rotate screen mean
,
whats auto rotation on phone