Auto rotate no longer working

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by cnmsales, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason the auto rotate on my screen isnt working anymore. I tried turning AR off then back on but still no luck. When the slider is closed no matter what way I turn my phone it stays the same.

    Any ideas?

    Im currently running froyo with the p3 kernal. It was initially working properly after the froyo install but just stoped .
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Wow, that's really weird, because with Froyo you can rotate it to any position and get a screen.

    Did you try a simple reset (on/off) of your phone? If that doesn't work you may need to do a factory data reset.
     
  3. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    sometimes a widget is the culprit, clear them all and load them one by one to rule that out if what hook said doesn't work.
     
  4. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried clearing all my widgets and reboot. Still nothing.
     
  5. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hook, how do i do a reset and will it effect me having froyo and root?
     
  6. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your accelerometer working? Try something that uses it? If it isn't you may need to do a factory reset as hook stated? Dunno
     
  7. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have nandroid backups? You can go to a previous one too.
     
  8. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes the accelerometer works for everything else. The only thing it doesnt work is when the keyboard is closed and on the home screens and app drawer. If i open an app it rotates normal.

    How do i factory reset, and will it mess up root and froyo?
     
  9. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a setting my friend. Are you using a launcher? There will be settings on that and the OS.
     
  10. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope no launcher. No need for one now with froyo.
     
  11. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do i factory reset, and will it mess up root and froyo?
     
  12. Lucas5
    Offline

    Lucas5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just for grins and giggles, try installing an alternative launcher from the market and see if it properly rotates your screen(s) when you turn your phone. If it does than perhaps there's something wrong with home screen app in your froyo rom.
    I'd do a full nandroid backup than do the factory reset which will wipe your froyo out and you'll lose root. it will take you back to version 2.0.1 which is super easy to gain root on.
     
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Go to your settings/privacy/factory data reset. This will remove your apps and data but you should recover everything when you sign back in. Apps will be in your downloads in the market.
     
  14. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. threetom
    Offline

    threetom New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds retarded I know, but I tried rebooting, removing the battery, turning AR off and on, and of course re-calibrating, nothing worked, was pissed, than I found a solution on another site, the answer lay the droid flat when calibrating, this worked, not sure why, maybe i'm dumb, but it worked, hope it works for you! Threetom
     
Search tags for this page
android auto rotate doesn't work
,
auto rotate doesn't work android
,
auto rotate not working on htc incredible
,
droid x auto rotate not working
,
htc droid doesnt rotate
,
htc incredible 2 screen auto rotate
,

htc incredible auto rotate not working

,
htc incredible s auto rotate problem
,
htc pd42100 screen wont rotate
,
my htc incredible does not auto rotate