1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Audio auto-pause when headphone jack unplugged

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by zerosignal0, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This bug is driving me ABSOLUTELY CRAZY! I know that the audio quality issue has to due with stagefright which I have modified and now everything sounds great but the no auto-pause thing is just crappy. Basically the main times I am noticing this issue is in pandora,slacker radio and youtube but if anyone has more insight it would be greatly appreciated. Also any word on the auto-pause feature and navi? I still have the issue where the audio stops and doesnt start when using gps as well...

    currently on 4.4
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off, what did you do to stagefright??

    Secondly - so the main issue is audio pauses when the headphone jack is unplugged, and you'd rather it keep playing?
  3. cdub998
    Offline

    cdub998 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks very much - this will be added to the toolset for 4.6
  5. Duhman
    Offline

    Duhman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it possible to choose to use the OpenCore instead of Stagefright when building your ROMs from source? If so, wouldn't that be the best way to get back to better quality.. I mean unless there is an option in Stagefright that can be changed to make it work properly when compiling from source?
  6. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I not even see OpenCore in the source anywhere ... so unless it is built separately, I don't see how ...
  7. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought this was based on the app used as a music player.

    The stock one, Pandora, etc. do pause by default (as most users prefer) but something like MixZing does not.
  8. Abadus
    Offline

    Abadus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With 2.2 mine stopped pausing. Also navigation will pause pandofe but it will not automatically start back up after it is done speaking.
  9. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly. So like others mentioned I set stagefright to false as it assists with the aac decoding bugs that are being seen in audio streaming apps on 2.2. As for the pausing it is supposed to be based on the apps apparently yet non of them have fixed the issue yet which is kind of making me wonder if maybe it is something in 2.2 that could be tweaked?
  10. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the confusing post but I had come off of a long night shift so what I was thinking wasn't quite making sense while typing. At any rate the issue like I had just mentioned a moment ago is that when the headphone jack is unplugged the default audio behavior should be to pause. In 2.2 with pandora and lots of other media based apps that used to act this way now do not pause when the jack is pulled and keep playing through the speakers.


    Seems like a trivial issue but I thought it to be one of the coolest hidden features on the phone tbh...
  11. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Originally Posted by Duhman [​IMG]
    Originally Posted by ChevyNo1 [​IMG]
    Originally Posted by cdub998 [​IMG]

    If you disable stagefright it supposedly fixes AAC decoding for streaming radio.

    [FIX] Fix poor AAC streaming performance (Pandora, Slacker, etc) on Froyo - Page 3 - xda-developers

    Here is the link so you can read up.


    Thanks very much - this will be added to the toolset for 4.6


    Is it possible to choose to use the OpenCore instead of Stagefright when building your ROMs from source? If so, wouldn't that be the best way to get back to better quality.. I mean unless there is an option in Stagefright that can be changed to make it work properly when compiling from source?

    I not even see OpenCore in the source anywhere ... so unless it is built separately, I don't see how ...

    It does make all the difference in the world. Just about every other song I have listened to the last 2 weeks in Pandora has been terrible quality. After doing the fix in build.prop yesterday I have listened to both pandora and slacker for about 3 hours straight with perfect quality. I can also vouch that there was no signal issues at the time of the bad quality playback.
  12. ArmoredCavalry
    Offline

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know a way to extend the delay between when it 'thinks' the headphones are unplugged, and when it actually auto-pauses? In other words, wait until the connection is gone a full second before auto-pausing.

    I use my Droid to listen to tunes in the car, but anytime I go around a turn and it moves a bit, the connection can be lost (cable moving in jack), and pauses.

    Easily the most annoying thing I have encountered with my Droid.... :(
  13. zezer
    Offline

    zezer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a common problem a lot of people have had this issue.. its not from any software its actually the hardware.. some cables don't fit the jack well.. try a heavy duty one in it.. some times this fixes the issue.
  14. Abadus
    Offline

    Abadus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are running SS 4.5 and yours auto pauses with headphone unplug?

    When I unplug mine from my car dock it just blares through the speakers it does not pause. Using Pandora.
  15. NattyBee
    Offline

    NattyBee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry if this has been mentioned before but...the only app I've had problems with this on is Slacker...and that has never auto paused when headphones removed--even with Stock Android2.1....Pandora, Music, etc have never given me issues, and still do not...
  16. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So your saying that you are running a 2.2 rom with pandora 1.3 and when you disconnect from the headphone jack it auto-pauses? If so can you confirm once more thats its working for you and maybe tell us what your phone says under about so I can match kernels and stuff?
  17. NattyBee
    Offline

    NattyBee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cancel that, just tried it again...it's doing what you guys are getting...strange, I never noticed before..sorry...
  18. evy
    Offline

    evy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a problem,I have a. My touch 4g slide, and when I used pandora with limit skips I unplug my Aux cable and the music paused, but now I unplug the aux and the misc keeps playing and it's anoying cuz sometimes I'm in a hurry and the music keeps playing like crazy!
Search tags for this page
android autopause youtube
,
android phone prevent audio from pausing headphones unplugge
,
autopause when headphones are removed android
,

disable auto pause android

,
disable pause headphone remove galaxy s3
,
how to disable autopause on galaxy siii
,
how to remove auto pause music in android
,
how to stop apps from pausing when unplug/headphones
,
how to turn off headphone disconnect in android music player
,
pandora app stop when headphones unplug
,
prevent auto pause android
,
razr pause unplug headphone setting
,
s4 headphone unplug delay
,
stop audio playback when headphones are removed
,
why does pandora pause when headphones in