Attempted to install Steel Droid 4.5; now have flashing/blinking Moto Dual Core logo

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by tarahmarie, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (1) I had root on a stock Droid 3.
    (2) I factory reset.
    (3) I installed ROM Manager and flashed CWM (didn't do me a lot of good, because I didn't have root anymore).
    (4) I rooted using the One-Click method. ([ROOT/UNROOT] Droid 3 root instructions (One Click added for Windows/ Linux/ OSX) - Droid 3 - RootzWiki)
    (5) I installed Koush's Droid 3 Bootstrap Recovery and CWM via ROM Manager.
    (6) I copied the SD4.5 zip to my sdcard, manually booted into CWM Recovery and installed.
    (7) I rebooted after the installation successfully completed.
    (8) I have a flashing Dual Core Moto logo, and nothing else.
    (9) I tried booting into recovery, and I get the stock Android Recovery screen, not the CWM screen.

    What do I do? I'm not an Android dev, but I know my way around OOP. I've used Cyanogen before on a previous phone; I was going to do Steel Droid on this one since there's an official release of SD for the Droid 3 and not for CM. I'm open to any suggestions, and I don't particularly care what ROM I use so long as I don't have to use MotoCrapWare (tm) by the time I'm done.
  2. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    Are you still on firmware version 5.6.890?

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
  3. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    If you're on .890, SBF/Fastboot back to stock. Root. Install SafeStrap. (Guidot has instruction threads for this over in the Hacks section). Enable Safe mode and Flash ROM (again, directions in Hacks)

    If you're on .906, that's a bit trickier.
  4. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please translate this set of instructions into "Not an Android Developer".

    .890 = ?
    SBF = ?
    .906 = ?
  5. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    :biggrin: go to settings, about phone and look for system version. its gonna be 5.7.XXX.Verizon.en.US. The XXX will either be 890 or 906.

    this will tell us what system base you are on, so we will know which way to point you.


    If it is .890.....go to this post here It will give you directions for "fastbooting" (which is much easier than SBFing IMO) your phone back to stock 890, rooting it and installing a ROM



    If it is .906 DO NOT FOLLOW those directions. Let us know. It's a bit trickier, but can be done.
  6. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone doesn't boot. I am stuck at the flashing Moto Dual Core logo. I can't tell you what firmware I'm on.
  7. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can get to the standard Android Recovery screen and I have AP Fastboot; can I find out my firmware from there?
  8. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    oh yeah. poop.

    how long have you had the D3? Is this a replacement?
    when it was stock, did you recently get an OTA update?
    I'm guessing you didn't flash the leaked .906 zip, correct?
  9. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (1) A year. A replacement of what?
    (2) OTA means over the air, I think. How would I know if I got one?
    (3) No clue. The first zip file I tried to install was the Steel Droid one.
  10. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    O.O--would the OTA update have been pushed immediately after factory resetting the phone? Like the difference between seeing Android Market and Google Play Store? If so, that update did happen.
  11. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    You would have been prompted by a pop up menu asking if you wanted to download an update. Then after dowloading, it would have asked if you wanted to update the phone. During the update it would have rebooted into an "update screen" that showed a progress bar indicating how far along the update is. If you didn't see any of that, you probably didn't update. It's not as simple as a Market to Play Store conversion.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
  12. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't remember doing that while I had the phone. In fact, I am fairly sure (but not all the way) that I never permitted OTAs because it might have killed root. So, here's the question. If I have the .906 and I use the .890 method, will that permabrick my phone?
  13. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    try powering up your phone by holding the power + x button..when you get the exclamation and android screen press both the volume buttons...scroll down to factory reset/wipe data then press your power button to select it then confirm it..then reboot
  14. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    If you've had the phone for a year, and didn't do an OTA, I would assume that you are still on the .890 firmware. Follow Ovelayer's instructions (post right above this one) and see what that does for you. If it doesn't help, try vbhokiefan's instructions on the first page.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
  15. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, but that's not my question. If I have the .906 and I use the .890 method, will I permabrick my phone? (also, wiping cache and data didn't help)
  16. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    Not at all we have done SBF for either or that will fix you
  17. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whew. Ok, I will try the .890 method now and report back.
  18. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    Worst case scenario the 890 sbf won't work and you will have to use my 906 sbf
  19. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    not tricky anymore we have released a 1 click sbf for .906
    [6-7-2012] .906 to .890 SBF *UPDATED* - xda-developers
  20. tarahmarie
    Offline

    tarahmarie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so, I am not a Windows user. The instructions you sent me to depend on me being able to get my phone to connect in Windows, and while I have a Windows partition and have booted into in and installed RSDlite, RSDlite does not see my phone and the USB cable I have does not seem to connect my phone when I'm booted into AP Fastboot. This is the screen I see when I try. Yes, I know I need a stock Motorola cable; about 15 minutes ago, the nice gentleman at the Verizon store flat refused to sell me a new Droid 3 just so I could use the USB cable and return the phone ;-). It would be a week or more before I would receive a cable from an online order.

    I do have, however, a card reader. I could load whatever you want me to and apply it as an update.zip through the Android recovery screen, or I can use AP Fastboot. Here are the options I have. Can the BP SBF Flash option be used here? How would I do it?
Search tags for this page

factory reset a motorola dual core