1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

att sucks

Discussion in 'Android Smart Phones' started by revnmaynard, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. revnmaynard
    Offline

    revnmaynard New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got a htc aria from at&t. and i hust learned that AT&T restricts it by blocking Android's capability to install third-party apps. does anyone know away around this much appreciation.
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    If you're within the 30 grace period take it back! If not, then I'm not sure how to proceed.
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,344
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    you cant go settings>applications and check the box for unknown sources?
  4. revnmaynard
    Offline

    revnmaynard New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im running on a 2.1 and i dont see a option for unknown sources under settings/applications. all i got is manage applications, running services, and development. do i need froyo?
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I have Froyo so the unknown sources appears in my app settings. I know it is in 2.1 but I can not recall the location.

    Mike
  6. bje1982
    Offline

    bje1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That option is not an option on ATT android phones they locked it down so you can only download from the Market. Its rediculous.

    I dont know if its already done but just keep an eye out for a root hack for it and give att the middle finger.
  7. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Be sure to visit our sister site over at ATTDroids.com and check out the HTC Aria Forum. I think you'll find the answers over there :) Rooting Guide, Custom Roms, etc.

Search tags for this page
enable unknown sources on at&t android phones 2010
,
how to get the install for unknown sources on att htc aria
,

htc aria sucks

,
htc ariasucks