AT&T Uverse Web Remote Access solution?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Phreaker47, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    So, I have AT&T Uverse TV/Internet at home... one nice feature is the web remote access for programming the DVR. However, neither the default browser on the Droid nor the new Fennec alpha build, nor Opera Mini can successfully use this site. (With the default browser you can ALMOST do it but not really). AT&T says they officially support IE7+, FF 3.0, or Safari.

    Of course, AT&T provides their own special app for iPhones, etc. I was hoping someone knew of an app or other solution to use uverse web remote access on Android?

    Edit: Found this: http://us.s3.wap.yahoo.com/p/uversetv/

    Still would be cool to have an app though...

    Edit2: wap site doesn't even let you set extended recording times... this is especially crucial for sports that almost always run over. Also there is no guide, you just have to search for what you want and cycle through a bunch of screens until you find it. I guess it will do for now, but it's very limited so an app would be REALLY nice.
     
    #1 Phreaker47, Apr 28, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  2. PhoneSter

    PhoneSter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stock 2.1 non root... no issues programming my dvr thru att.net uverse login
     
  3. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Can you explain? Default browser? Because I have these issues on the FULL web page http://uversetv.att.yahoo.com/wra/ :

    - Scroll bars not present on the channel listings, cannot scroll channels
    - Scroll bars also not present in search results
    - Only solution to above is to search an exact channel to get it on the screen
    - Even after that, when the popup box comes up that lets you set the "stop recording after (30min/1hr/2hr/etc)", you cannot click the "Schedule Recording" button to finish!
    - The mobile version of the site doesn't let you do the above at all.

    The most I can accomplish is to get my show to somehow show up in the search results on the right side (and it would HAVE to be at the top of the list, because again, can't scroll through the list), then it is possible to click the red dot on the left side of that pane (but you CAN'T do this on the main guide area either.)

    So can you explain how you got it to work?

    I am on rooted but stock 2.1.
     
    #3 Phreaker47, Apr 29, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
  4. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    No answer I guess...
     
  5. tyrosniver

    tyrosniver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    perhaps try using skyfire beta... it renders most things flawlessly. not familiar with that at&t service though.
     
  6. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Already tried it... same result. All browsers can't seem to manage the scroll bars on the listings. It is either a flash or java issue, I'm sure... it's something android browsers can't handle properly yet, even Skyfire.

    They have a WAP page that can be used, but it's extremely limited and most importantly you can't tell it to record extra time (mandatory for sports)

    However, I have also just read on another forum that AT&T is going to roll out a new app soon that should also have an Android version, since they are also rolling out Android phones too... and supposedly it will also allow dvr content streaming too. Here's hoping...
     
  7. PhoneSter

    PhoneSter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry didnt see this... I'm 2.1 non root. Root may be your issue. The full website comes up. need to scroll pinch and zoom, but it still works just fine... even worked on stock 2.01 just no pinch / zoom
     
  8. Jizzylax

    Jizzylax Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your Droid must be different the rest of ours. It never worked, rooted or non-rooted.
     
  9. peh803

    peh803 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    AT&T Uverse

    FWIW, I've had success at the full site with both Opera Mini 5 AND Dolphin Browser HD 2. I've been able to (with a little bit of effort) schedule recordings, delete existing recordings, etc.

    Also FWIW, I did recall trying this in the past with no luck, and now it seems to be working. I'm not sure if the browsers are the answer, or if the site was updated to be somehow more accommodating... but at least I can "kinda" do it now from my rooted froyo'd DROID 1.

    HTH,
    Phil
     
  10. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Yeah glad you bumped this... because I also "sort of" have it working. The main issue is that still, the scroll bars never show up on the right side of the guide grids. So, I have to use the search in the right pane to get what I want to show up. But at least now, if I can manage to get that window up for a program that lets me set the extra recording time, it will actually recognize me tapping "schedule recording" which was something I couldn't do before.

    Still, it's a major hassle.

    AT&T is SUPPOSED to be releasing a new app this year for BOTH Android and iPhone (since they now have android phones) so hopefully that comes before too long. The new app will allegedly also allow for slingbox-like functionality when connected via wifi. Sweet...
     
  11. peh803

    peh803 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wap site doesn't even come up for me. oh well. C'mon AT&T! Where's your android app??
     
  12. seryozha

    seryozha New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like an app was released today, but is only available to att phones:angry: any hope on getting the apk?dancedroid
     
Search tags for this page
android uverse remote
,
android uverse remote app
,
att uverse remote app for android
,
u verse easy remote android
,
u-verse easy remote app android
,

uverse android remote

,
uverse easy remote android
,
uverse remote app android
,

uverse remote app for android

,
uverse remote for android