AT&T Sends Out An OTA That Auto Installs With No Prompt For The LG G4

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DroidModderX, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. DroidModderX

    DroidModderX Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,494
    Likes Received:
    2,069
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +2,188
    [​IMG]

    This is kind of alarming for anyone who wishes to root their device. Today AT&T issued a no prompt OTA update. When receiving the update the phone just receives the update and auto reboots the phone when finished. Everyone knows that if you want to root your device you want to stay away from ota updates since these almost always patch known root methods. If you are going along all happily rooted it would really stink for your phone to auto update, killing root on your device.

    There is no changelog for the LG G4 update, but AT&T claims the update was to fix an issue with the address book? I'm not sure why something so seemingly insignificant would require an urgent and automatic update. Its funny that Jcase uploaded that video showing root progress earlier this morning just before the auto udpate.

    via Reddit
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I don't understand that either, but in case some don't realize it Google sneaks in updates without notice as well. I'm fairly certain, though I haven't tested it yer, that it was because if you taped the contacts icon it would attempt to open the AT&T address book instead of your contacts.
     
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    3,606
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +3,872
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    my understanding is this update was for release thus why it should've updated soon as phone was activated...

    Tapped by NexusSix
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Zoandar

    Zoandar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1
    Always a good idea to disable OTA updates (by either renaming the utility that does them, or freezing it using Titanium Backup) whenever you root an Android device. :) My guess is that this new tactic they are doing is squarely aimed at breaking root on currently rooted devices.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Ellyenne

    Ellyenne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got an automatic update for Google Play Store (security app scans everything, so I get a notification). I've set Application Manager to not autoupdate, and to notify me of all updates. Google Play Store updated, and did not notify me. I'm a little pissed.
    When I first got the phone (standing in the Verizon Store), Amazon uploaded 50MB of updates via 4G. My data plan is NOT unlimited. I gave the tech an earful about that. And immediately throttled the auto updates.
     
  6. jmonroe0914

    jmonroe0914 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your phone is rooted, you can manually prevent the phone from taking any OTA that's pushed... there's plenty of tutorials online that show how to either freeze or uninstall the app package that controls OTAs
     
  7. jmonroe0914

    jmonroe0914 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can set the play store to only update on wifi
     
  8. jmonroe0914

    jmonroe0914 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Highly doubtful... there's probably a legitimate reason why they pushed an OTA, and whenever the changelogs are released, it'll probably show why there was a need for an immediate OTA
     
  9. jmonroe0914

    jmonroe0914 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because of an api for the att address book. Its the same with Verizon's MyVerizon app, which if 611 is dialed, auto opens the app, not the dialer.

    If you're phone is rooted, you can disable the individual com option that's the cause within the ATT address book via AutoRun Manager or an equivalent
     
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    It turns out that the only reason the AT&T address book was attempting to open was because the phone didn't have a SIM card at the time. I have since been able to tell it not to open.
     
Search tags for this page

when did the at&t prompt for address book begin