ASPHALT 5 for the DROID!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Games Discussions' started by gertman, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1.) RAM is not the same like ROM. ram size is the same on droid / milestone 256 megs. ROM (app storage) is on both the same too 197 megs free, but on milestone are just 154 of them free cause of not erasable (without root) third party apps like motonav.

    2.) in the task killer you see free RAM like the RAM from your pc. not the ROM (app storage).

    3.) he needs just to install 160 mb free to install. cause you cant have 160 mb free AFTER install cause that would mean he haves 320 megs of total user space which we dont have.

    3.) yes in options / memory usage you see how much free of the rom is. but its not 256 its 197 megs whats just free sadly. linda manager for example shows you the total rom u can use. dont know if on droid is more then 197 of total usuable rom.

    for the low space prob :
    like i said they should just let the main app install to phone memory and the user should download the other data over the internet to the sd card. yesterday our news team had a interview chat with hyperdevbox - the exzeus makers. and carlo from hdb told me, that it is really easy to implement the feature of saving additional data to sd card.
     
    #37 MustangGT500, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  2. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it sounds like if I want to play this game I need to root my Droid or wait until Gamesoft puts the data on the SD card. Is it simple to move apps to the SD card after after rooting?
     
  3. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I clean off a bunch of apps just to try to re-install. I have 192mb free and still no luck. :( The first time I tried I had around 185meg free and it seemed to try for a few seconds to install. Then after I deleted some more apps the error message just pops up right away.

    I am using Astro Manager to try and install. Does any know how to clear out this temp memory? I have used the task killer and rebooted but it still will not "try".

    Mustang GT 500 did you try to free up the required memory and see if you could get it to install?
     
  4. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The version on the marketplace DOES put the majority (~100MB) of its data on the sdcard. However, going by my own experience and the comments on the download page; NO ONE has gotten it to work. It just kicks back to the desktop after the loading progress bar gets to 100%

    I got it to run ONCE on a clean 2.0.1 install with nothing else installed - but only once. I wonder if their implementation of storing the data on the sdcard is borked, and the data files get corrupted. Whatever the cause, they NEED to fix it because almost no one can get this game to run reliably.
     
  5. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gertman and i maybe got a older version cause our asphalt 5 is around 50 megs and needed around 160 phone memory to install. No sd card using in this version.
     
  6. jimmiem

    jimmiem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was in the market a few days ago. I was browsing all of Gameloft's apps and it had less than 50 downloads at the time. It doesn't show up in the market for me now.
     
  7. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I never did see it in the Marketplace. Do any of you that downloaded it from there know what version it was? Mine was version 1.0

    Anyway here is the latest from Gameloft:

    "Unfortunately its and Android limitation. The application is downloaded --> 50MB --> The Installer launches and decompresses the application --> it uses more than 50MB space ---> The installer moves the files to the installation path final 50MB.
    So virtually it uses 150MB though it only needs ~52 MB for the installed application.
    We developed a second solution: you download a shorter version like 15MB and when you launch the game it asks the user to update the application and downloads the remaining 35MB for the application to run."

    They will check if this option can be uploaded to the shop, currently it works with A855 but they wanted to extend it to more handsets.

    -----------
    I then asked if I could get this new version sent to my phone and was told this:
    -----------

    "They are still developing that other solution, I missunderstood the first eMail Sorry!
    They are working on this idea to hopefully implement it in the future!"

    -------------

    Now I ask all of you that have downloaded this game and can not get it to work PLEASE post over at the Gameloft forum!!!

    Technical Support
     
    #43 gertman, Mar 20, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Gotta respect a company that will willingly accept your money, without testing if their product even works before selling it.
     
  9. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    I don't know, I bought mine right from the Market app on my phone, and it's version 1.0.0

    The app download is ~16MB, and it downloads an additional ~100MB to the /sdcard/gameloft folder.
     
  10. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    dave can you please send me a QR code for the app ?!
     
  11. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has any body tried this game with a rooted Droid?
     
  12. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    I can't imagine it making a difference.

    That and I can't find it on the market.
     
Search tags for this page
an sd card with at least 1 mb free is required
,

an sd card with at least 1mb free is required

,
an sd card with at least 1mb free is required asphalt 5
,
an sd card with at least 1mb free is required in order to download the new content
,

asphalt 5 an sd card with at least 1mb

,
asphalt 5 an sd card with atleast 1 mb
,
asphalt 5 need atleast 1mb
,
asphalt 5 new content
,
fix asphalt 5 an sd card with at least 1mb
,
how to install asphalt 5 in android