ASPHALT 5 for the DROID!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Games Discussions' started by gertman, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooops maybe your right I thought it said Android some where in the video but it doesn't :(
     
  2. CrappyAlloy

    CrappyAlloy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hardware wise our phones are certainly capable of it. So im sure it will be out eventually
     
  3. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all I would like to say Thank You very much to everyone who posted that they had issues with installing Asphalt 5 on their Droid!!! :motdroidvert:

    I believe we have successfully convinced Gamesoft that there is a real issue with installing the game on Droids not just mine!!

    Below is a summary of the correspondence I had with Gamesoft today (3-9-10):

    -They had a meeting this morning; I assume tech support in India with the programmers in France (This is just my best guess on locations)

    -The results of the meeting were:

    1. Gamesoft is going to try installing Asphalt 5 on different firmwares of Android. The impression I am getting is that they think the memory error has something to do with either the version of firmware or kernel that is installed on the Moto Droid.

    2. There apparently is an additional problem (maybe unrelated?) because the game should not be 50 megs.
     
  4. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    They also should consider downloading additional data to the sd card to save our memory - bring this on too pls.
     
  5. Rabbi57

    Rabbi57 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys
    i have some informations for you:


    • Asphalt should install and run fine with 160 MB free in the device (the flash memory, not to confuse with the sd card), it's working with my Droid, and it's just awesome ! it's possible it won't work in the Milestone, if i'm not wrong our folks in europe have less flash memory.
    • Why dont they release it in the marketplace? i guess it's just because the marketplace is commun to every Android device in the place ! and obviously Asphalt 5 won't run in a G1 for example, so they cannot sell a game in a shop knowing that only a few devices will run it
    • Why is it installed in the internal memory and not the sd card? well reading the forums and the android support, it seems it's impossible to install an app in the sd card...not their fault here
    Hoping this info will help! cheers!
     
  6. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    last point ABSOLUTELY wrong. apps CAN be installed in sd card. look at exzeus from hyperdevbox. you install just the exceutable file around 1 mb and the other data will be downloaded after the first game start on sdcard. also raging thunder 2 you download 4 mb executable and 20 megs will be downloaded to sd just to name two. its just gameloft lazyness i think. makes be bit angry.
     
  7. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    160 MB is ridiculous.
     
  8. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes its pretty much. but if they would save it to sd card it wouldn´t matter.
     
  9. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I have been reading the thread all day but did not have time to respond until now.
    --------------
    Rabbi57: WOW that is great!!! You are the first person I have heard from besides Gamesoft themselves that has gotten Asphalt 5 to work on the Droid. Congratulations!!!
    First question for you is: Do you have any other apps on your phone? Last time I tried to install the game I had somewhere close to 190mb free but it still did not work for me. :(
    Second question: Do you need the 160mb free to just install the game or to also play it?
    ----------------
    Mustang GT 500: Please tell me is Rabbi57 correct in that the Milestone has less on board RAM? This is the first of have heard of any difference between the Milestone and the Droid?
    -----------------

    Next I have some more general questions, excuse my ignorance:

    When I go into options and look at the memory usage of my phone's internal memory this is the portion of the 256mb I am using for apps. correct?

    Then what is the mb free when I use Advanced Task Killer? It's actually labeled Available Memory

    So I think you know where I am going with this; do I need Advanced Task Killer to say I have at least 160mb free to install/ run Asphalt 5?
     
    #33 gertman, Mar 10, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  10. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought my post was running a bit long. Here is todays update from Gamesoft:

    1. The Gamesoft testing team was able to duplicate the memory error we are all getting (except Rabbi57). I think this is a huge step forward :icon_ banana:

    2. 'It seems there are some Android installer limitations.'

    3. Gamesoft says that a user needs at least 150mb free to install (and play?) and realizes that this is an issue that needs to be fixed!!!

    Now, per Mustang GT 500's advice I did tell them about Polarbit and how Raging Thunder 2 is mostly installed on the SD card is this is what prompted response number 3.

    I am VERY hopeful that Gamesoft will fix this glutinous memory requirement considering Gamesoft has finally recognized it as an issue. It is just not practical to use 150mb of our very limited 256mb for one app.
     
    #34 gertman, Mar 10, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  11. MustangGT500

    MustangGT500 DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but its really strange that gameloft dont answer ME [​IMG]. i have many good contacts with important developers but gameloft is the first that dont reply me. not very nice [​IMG].
    ok gameloft if you read that :
     
  12. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    MustangGT500 do you know the answer to any of my questions from the above posts.
     
Search tags for this page
an sd card with at least 1 mb free is required
,

an sd card with at least 1mb free is required

,
an sd card with at least 1mb free is required asphalt 5
,
an sd card with at least 1mb free is required in order to download the new content
,

asphalt 5 an sd card with at least 1mb

,
asphalt 5 an sd card with atleast 1 mb
,
asphalt 5 need atleast 1mb
,
asphalt 5 new content
,
fix asphalt 5 an sd card with at least 1mb
,
how to install asphalt 5 in android