Apps won't install from market...always fail.

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by trebb, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My apps update fine, and I restored all of them with titanium backup. However, if I try and install something new, it doesn't work. It downloads, then upon installing, fails. I've done the market fix and the gapps fix multiple times. Any ideas?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    just wait, been sporadic like that for me over last few days even before installing this rom.
    sometimes swapping to wifi seems to help, sometimes not..
     
  3. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try settings -> applications -> manage applications -> all tab -> market -> clear cache (and possibly clear data if cache doesn't help)
     
  4. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried both of those. Neither helped. My market force closes a lot and everything fails upon installation. FML :(
     
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    What are you running? I would do a factory reset and reinstall.....
     
  6. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    That would be my suggestion as well. I have had the market FC once on me since moving to 0.7.0, but other than that my build has been spot on perfect.

    My 70 build is sitting directly on top of a 62 build installed from scratch after full wipes. I could see where problems would arise if several ROMs have been tried w/o a wipe.
     
  7. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had wiped prior to installing 0.7.0, but I just wiped and reinstalled everything fresh again. It seems to be working this time. I think it had to do with my theme...I was using the Blue Energy theme. I'm using the blue smoked glass one now.
     
  8. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, it's not working again. This is what I did:

    -Wiped data/cahe 3x
    -Installed Sapphire 0.7.0
    -Turned on, signed into google, let contacts sync
    -Downloaded titanium backup
    -reboot into recovery, installed a new kernel/did market fix/did gapps fix
    -booted up
    -installed theme (smoked glass, no font)
    -restored my apps with backup.

    I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG. WTF. WHY DID IT WORK AND NOW IS IT NOT WORKING. AHHh
     
  9. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe doing the market fix before verifying you needed to?
     
  10. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rewiped everything again and did ANOTHER fresh install. This time, I didn't do the market fix at all. All I applied was the gapps fix. Even before I applied this fix, the market was FCing. I can still install things, but it FCs all the time. I don't know what else to try honestly.
     
  11. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would flash a backup that the market was working and see if it works now. If it does try it once more, if you are downloading from Rom Manager then DL directly from the link posted in this forum.

    Also try the IRC channel for support.
     
  12. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm having the same FC issues and have tried everything listed in this thread short of trying another backup or loading from recovery.

    I came from Jrummy's Kangerade 1.1 (in which the market was fine) with a data/cache wipe before install through RM. I installed the Smoked Glass theme option as well via RM at the same time.

    Hoping there is a "fix" rather than complete reinstall. I just finally got it setup how I want it. :-/
     
  13. DroidFan88
    Offline

    DroidFan88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had been having problems with the market on almost every Froyo rom I tried. The Team Chaos ROM worked for a little while then wouldn't install anything after a little while and I've never been able to get it to work since even after wiping many times and re-installing.

    I didn't have any luck with the first sapphire release 0.6.0 but 0.7.0 looked like it had some great new features so I gave it a go. Right out of the gate, it was fast, the market itself was slow, which I think is a market issue, not any of the ROMS, and things were installing without a hitch. I was happy as a clam that the issues I had been having seemed to go away, then, all of a sudden, one of my downloads got "stuck" and I wasn't able to install any more apps. I went to my backup, which was working when I did it, and that wouldn't work either. I did a total wipe 3x and re-installed, still wouldn't work. Tried Team Chaos again, same results. Went to BB 0.4, Kangerade 1.1, same issues. Wiped and went back to a 2.1 backup and all is good again.
    I wish I could figure out what is causing this issue that keeps rearing it's ugly head. Judging from what I've read, it appears that many of you have had similar instances. Did anyone find out what was going wrong and come up with a fix? Must be something.
     
  14. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    Something I forgot to mention, I get a market FC EVERY time I connect to a PC and turn on USB storage.......
     
  15. trebb
    Offline

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never used ROM Manager to install Sapphire. All straight from the computer, then used Clockwork.
     
Search tags for this page
android app failed to install
,
android app won't install
,

android apps wont install

,
android wont install apps
,
apps wont install android
,

apps wont install on android

,
apps wont install on my android
,
my android apps wont install
,
my android phone wont install apps
,
my android wont install apps