1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Apps on SD not in Launcher.

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by ps5281, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. ps5281
    Offline

    ps5281 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having a huge problem with the Apps2SD feature - I set the script that all the apps are installed to the SD card. Now that I restored all my apps using Titanium backup none of my apps show up in my launcher. What gives?

    When I looking in the system application manager it shows that all the apps are installed and on the SD card, but it constantly says "computing" under each app.

    I've tried restarting. Battery pull. Restarting just the launcher. All to no avail.
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Might be because they were installed on the phone when you backed them up. Maybe be better to restore first, then run the script. Not sure which script you're referring to. The one I used with SS4.1 simply allows future installs to default to the SD and allows you to move existing apps one-by-one in Manage Applications.
  3. trumpet444
    Offline

    trumpet444 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have that same problem with the froyo kangerade rom i'm using. After I force move the app to sd using titanium backup it disappears from my launcher. But, if I have a shortcut for the app on the homescreen its still there, and still works, but it no longer has its custom icon. It has the default android icon. I have zero problems with apps that have app2sd support for froyo though. But theres very few of them out there
  4. tlippert
    Offline

    tlippert New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    what launcher are you using... Launcher Pro cannot handle the apps2sd yet.. He says he needs the source in order to make it work...I'm not sure but I think the ADW Launcher has the same problem... Hopefully since source is out this issue can be resolved.

    edit with link to launcher pro forum
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  5. ps5281
    Offline

    ps5281 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I'm doing is after installing the Rom I log in and download Titanium Backup. Then go into the new GUI for Scripts and choose the one the sends all apps to SD. I then restore the apps with TI, which takes next to forever. And this is where I'm running into a problem.

    I've tried LauncherPro, ADW, Helix 1, and what I assume is the stock...

    Am I missing a step?

    Been working on this for the better part of the day now, considering going back to my 2.1 rom...
  6. bsteenson
    Offline

    bsteenson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The problem appears to be that apps on the SD card get loaded into memory after the launcher is loaded during a boot, so that icons are generic on the home screen and missing entirely from the apps drawer.

    Simple solution is to force close the launcher and restart it (for example, Launcher Pro has an option to do this from the Preferences screen). You have to do this every time you reboot, however, until they fix it for Froyo.
  7. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Yep, frustrated the hell out of me until this morning.

    Launcher Pro has the option in settings to restart the launcher, works like a charm.
  8. ps5281
    Offline

    ps5281 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a limit to the numbers of Apps you can put on the SD Card?

    What I've been trying to do is use Titanium Backup to put almost all of my apps on the SD Card. There's no way that all the Apps I've amassed over time will fit on the internal memory. And installing them one by one and picking out which ones I want to move to the SD is not worth it.
  9. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South of NM

    I don't believe there is a limit although I would recommend moving only large standalone apps like games and google earth. Google earth alone frees up over 20mb. There's not a whole of reason to move everything but to each his own.
  10. ps5281
    Offline

    ps5281 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That and maybe it's about time that I finally breakdown and get rid of redundant apps or those that I never use anymore... Oh the agony
Search tags for this page
download toollauncer-bootstrap.exe
,
tool launcher bootstrap.exe
,
tool launcher-bootstrap
,
toollauncher
,

toollauncher-bootstrap

,
toollauncher-bootstrap.exe and windows 8
,
toollauncher-bootstrap.exe d
,

verizon tool launcher bootstrap

,
what is toolauncher bootstrap.exe on verizon wireless
,
what is toollauncher-bootstrap.exe