apps 2 sdcard

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pc747, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    Those running froyo are interested in apps2sd card. There are only a few apps right now capable of doing that.

    This thread will alert of new apps with that capability.
  2. MrCapcom
    Offline

    MrCapcom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh cool thats whats up
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    As noted: Titanium backup is set to be moved to sdcard.
  4. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Meaning Titanium installs to the sd card or meaning that it can restore all your backups to the sd card?
  5. foebea
    Offline

    foebea New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean the ext3/4 style apps2sd or the new froyo sd implementation? If the froyo, this thread could get very large over time :p

    Speedx 3D installed to sd card.
  6. les017
    Offline

    les017 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bluetooth File Transfer
    Crossword Solver
    Grocery IQ 2.0.2
    ROM Manager
    Root Explorer
    SetCpu

    Are all the ones on my phone that move to SD card
  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    meaning you can move the app to your sdcard.
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    add pandora to the list with the recent update
  9. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,935
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +271
    I'm confused. Doesn't Titanium do this? So what would be the point of this thread, until perhaps Froyo is available to the unrooted masses since Titanium requires root?
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    titanium backs up the apps. Astro does move the apps to the sdcard but their are problems when it come time to update the apps.
  11. kodiak799
    Online

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,935
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +271
    Yes, Astro re-install back-up apps is not working for me.

    From Titanium, go to backup/restore. LONG-PRESS on an app and then release. You get a pop-up window titled "Special Features". Click on the last one "Move to SD card" A few seconds later you get a notification from Titanium "moved app to SD card".

    System apps like, say Android Keyboard 2.2, CANNOT be moved to SD with Titanium. You also do not want to move apps you use widgets for, as you will lose the widget.

    I don't know how programs update, but if you have things that need to periodically access the web to update (such as 3rd party emails or news readers) I think it's probably best not to move to SD.

    Maybe I'm missing something. I moved AppBrain to SD but it is still showing as an active app running in the background. So I'm not sure what the benefit is unless you have maxed out your 256k ram. From an actual memory usage, doesn't seem to help.
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  12. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,124
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    Adding google sky map....it now allows you to move the app to sdcard with the recent update.
  13. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    only allowed me to move like six of my apps...what the hell
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    You need to use terminal and type in the following:


    su (enter)
    cd /system/bin (enter)
    sh pm setInstallLocation 2 (enter)

    Then you should be able to move almost all apps.
  15. xxxwdp02lcdxxx
    Offline

    xxxwdp02lcdxxx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't that cause problems if you're forcing them to the card?
Search tags for this page

2sdcard

,
apps 2sdcard
,

apps2sdcard

,
astro move apps to sd card
,
free apps2sdcards apps