apps 2 sdcard

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pc747, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    Those running froyo are interested in apps2sd card. There are only a few apps right now capable of doing that.

    This thread will alert of new apps with that capability.
     
  2. MrCapcom

    MrCapcom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh cool thats whats up
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    As noted: Titanium backup is set to be moved to sdcard.
     
  4. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Meaning Titanium installs to the sd card or meaning that it can restore all your backups to the sd card?
     
  5. foebea

    foebea New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean the ext3/4 style apps2sd or the new froyo sd implementation? If the froyo, this thread could get very large over time :p

    Speedx 3D installed to sd card.
     
  6. les017

    les017 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bluetooth File Transfer
    Crossword Solver
    Grocery IQ 2.0.2
    ROM Manager
    Root Explorer
    SetCpu

    Are all the ones on my phone that move to SD card
     
  7. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    meaning you can move the app to your sdcard.
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    add pandora to the list with the recent update
     
  9. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,817
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +822
    I'm confused. Doesn't Titanium do this? So what would be the point of this thread, until perhaps Froyo is available to the unrooted masses since Titanium requires root?
     
  10. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    titanium backs up the apps. Astro does move the apps to the sdcard but their are problems when it come time to update the apps.
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,817
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +822
    Yes, Astro re-install back-up apps is not working for me.

    From Titanium, go to backup/restore. LONG-PRESS on an app and then release. You get a pop-up window titled "Special Features". Click on the last one "Move to SD card" A few seconds later you get a notification from Titanium "moved app to SD card".

    System apps like, say Android Keyboard 2.2, CANNOT be moved to SD with Titanium. You also do not want to move apps you use widgets for, as you will lose the widget.

    I don't know how programs update, but if you have things that need to periodically access the web to update (such as 3rd party emails or news readers) I think it's probably best not to move to SD.

    Maybe I'm missing something. I moved AppBrain to SD but it is still showing as an active app running in the background. So I'm not sure what the benefit is unless you have maxed out your 256k ram. From an actual memory usage, doesn't seem to help.
     
    #11 kodiak799, Jun 10, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  12. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    Adding google sky map....it now allows you to move the app to sdcard with the recent update.
     
Search tags for this page

2sdcard

,

apps2sdcard

,
apps 2sdcard
,
astro move apps to sd card
,
free apps2sdcards apps
,
move to 2sdcard