Applications

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by roaddaw9, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. roaddaw9
    Offline

    roaddaw9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is their a easy and free way to backup my applications, install a ROM such as BB, and then restore just my applications? IE I don't understand how people are regularly able to upgrade their ROM and not have to setup everything over and over. Help is appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    We do have to set everything up. Or at least I do...
     
  3. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I use astro
    menu button > tools > backup applications
     
  4. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    938
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    ASTRO File Manager will backup your apps for free, as well as letting you manipulate the contents of the SD card like you can on the computer (ie, move, rename, delete files that you can't quite access otherwise)

    If you don't care about accessing the sdcard, app manager is does backup as well and is a bit more simply...
     
  5. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been using astro and mybackup pro, but is there a one click install all? Both of these ways you have to reinstall one by one. It gets annoying...
     
  6. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    If you re-install from astro, I dont believe you will get market updates on your apps. I restored half of my apps through astro, and the rest I downloaded through the market just to test my theory.
     
  7. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    938
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Yeah...I don't really know...I've only flashed a rom once when I first went to Pete's BB 2.1firmware rom, so I can't remember. The updates don't uninstall my apps, but I DO have to retheme and setup my homescreens again.

    It gets to be a pain, especially when Pete makes nice little tweaks every day. lol....

    But, tbh...I kinda like it. Forces me to rethink my organization, so my Droid keeps getting better...
     
  8. roaddaw9
    Offline

    roaddaw9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK maybe then I am not understanding. If I went to 0.7 of Pete's ROM can I go to lets say 0.8 by upgrading without reinstalling
     
  9. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can update by using update.zip with no data, app lose at all......
     
  10. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    938
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Yeah. nandroid install is only for the first time you install a completely different rom...ie if you went from DroidMod or Simply Stunning to Bugless Beast, or from the 2.0.1 version of BB to the 2.1 version.

    After you've done that, if you're staying with Bugless Beast, just run update.zip.
     
  11. roaddaw9
    Offline

    roaddaw9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK Awesome!!!! Thank you everyone for your assistance! Completely understand now!