Application updates

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by 511, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. 511
    Offline

    511 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Being vary new to the smart phone family I am slightly confused regarding just how downloading paid applications works.

    Case in point: A few days ago I made my first paid commitment to Beautiful Widgets which I love by the way! It was $1.46 I think. I was under the impression that it was a ONE time fee.

    My confusion began when I received a notification tonight that there was an update for BW. I quickly chose to update but then was concerned when I received a message at the end of the update that thanked me for my purchase.

    By doing the update did I just spend another $1.46?

    Any tips regarding applications and or updates would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    511
     
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    No need to worry. Updates are not charged again. I have not seen any app that has charged for one yet.
     
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you never have to pay again, it will always say its purchased from now on...even if you uninstalled it and then reinstalled it later it will be free
     
  4. 511
    Offline

    511 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, thanks guys
     
  5. pmas
    Offline

    pmas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massapequa, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Each purchase is a one time purchase. In fact, if you replace your phone, your apps will all be there on your new phone once you sign in under your gmail account. I have no idea why you received that message but I would look at google checkout and see if you were in fact charged twice. Chances are, you were not. Updates to apps, BW included, are free.
     
  6. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,270
    Likes Received:
    982
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,071
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Agreed. I had the G1, and only ever bought ONE app, I switched to an Alltel phone for a few months, then got the Droid, and went to buy the app again only to find out that my purchase still counted and I could download it for free!

    As for the message you received, I'm betting it was a message IN THE APP. A lot of apps have a popup when they update that let's you know what's new.

    Because your update is the same thing that someone who's buying the app for the first time would be downloading, I'd put money on the dev keeping the thanks for purchasing message in there.