Application/hack question: Handscent

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Jim 777, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    So I changed the widget icon for handscent and it was working great. Then I got an update notification and after I installed it, everything went back to stock, everything including background image, bubble colors, etc.

    No problem, I'll just re-install the new icon and be good. However, nothing seemed to work. Either the png file that is the widget icon eludes me, or they did something that keeps me from changing it.

    Any ideas? Here's what I'm shooting for.
    [​IMG]

    I restored to my last back up so I got it back, but if they're fixing bugs and such, I don't want to miss out and I still want my icon.

    Thanks
     
  2. King James
    Offline

    King James New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have the answer for you but just wanted to say those icons are awesome!
     
  3. ohioDroid
    Offline

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm with this guy, I can't really help you, but I'd be interested to know what you've done to get the phone set up like that!
     
  4. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. gotta have that funk
    Offline

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    pull the apk and look for the picture they use for the widget in drawable-hdpi...maybe they just changed the name of the widget picture and you just need to change the metamorph's picture to that name?
     
  6. Blayzejlm
    Offline

    Blayzejlm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you got your Handcent problem fixed. So i'm wondering how to install those icons? I DLed from the 3 links you posted but then what do I do? Change them to update.zip and reboot or what? Sorry for trying to hijack the thread but I'm banking on you fixed your problem :icon_ devil:
     
  7. Blayzejlm
    Offline

    Blayzejlm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    This deserves a :bump:
     
  8. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, that's how I did it previously but for some reason after the update (that I've since killed by restoring to when it was working) but now, after replacing all of them, it just doesn't take :(

    Sorry. no install programmed or anything. They're just png files, picture files that you can have. I use Bettercut to replace all my shortcut icons to the ones I made. The widgets I messed with myself separately to match the icons.