1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Apparent GPS Failure

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Narsil, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    It seems I may have a bum GPS. It will not find my location via GPS.

    Under locations, I have "Use GPS satellites" selected.

    I installed the "GPS Status" app and it showed a total of 8 satellites but the Droid would not lock onto any of them even after several minutes of standing in the middle of a pasture on a relatively clear evening.

    Any suggestions before returning this to Verizon for a warranty swapout?
  2. mike1655
    Offline

    mike1655 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid will not find GPS

    I just bought the droid toda and even the verizon rep could not get the gps to pick up the anything other than towers. It just kept searching for satelites. Without satelites the turn by turn voice navigation will not work.
  3. rroof
    Offline

    rroof New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy
    Bummer - left the store, hit the Googlemaps app, and it guided my home with a better screen/visualization than my factory BMW Nav (really)!
  4. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ever take your car to the mechanic with a chronic problem...?

    I waited in line for 20+ minutes to talk with a tech support person who hadn't really even touched a Droid before I handed her mine and explained the problem and the steps I'd taken. She fumbled around for a moment and finally asked where the verizon nav program was. I explained that it didn't come with that because it had google maps and she asked me to demonstrate the problem. I was fairly impressed with her willingness to try and fix the problem on a phone she wasn't familiar with and a program she'd never used. :blink:

    I opened google maps, touched the settings button, and pressed "my location." Three seconds later, inside the Verizon store, the map shifts and a blue dot appears in the proper place on the map. Grrrr. No wait, happy! :icon_ banana:

    I step outside, hit the GPS Status app and I'm locked onto twelve sats. Sweet! I have no idea what the problem was but it seems to be functioning just fine now.
  5. f4fwildcat
    Offline

    f4fwildcat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm having the same problem with finding the GPS satellites. Similarly, I have "Use GPS Satellites" selected, but the Droid never finds them. I too installed "GPS Status", but it has never shown any satellites, and the searching indicator continuously circles. I've been outside with no overhead obstructions for hours at a time ... but to no avail. It will not find any satellites. Have others had this problem ... and have you been able to fix it?
    :mad:
  6. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Grrr...well, after having it miraculously function flawlessly in and after leaving the Verizon store yesterday, my GPS is not functioning again.

    Now, GPS test doesn't even show the satellites that it won't lock onto, it doesn't even show that any satellites are there. I'll have to take it back to Verizon this week.
  7. fupher
    Offline

    fupher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Crud, I'm having the exact same issue and the exact same experience when I went into the Verizon store.
    When I go into browser google identifies my location correctly, it's just in maps for me.
  8. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Try one thing, turn off the GPS function on the phone. Turn it off, then back on, then put the GPS back on and see what happens.
  9. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Same problem as before. I'm backing up my apps and data now and will try a factory reset. I doubt that will fix it but it needs to be tried before attempting a swapout.
  10. fupher
    Offline

    fupher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Thank you for the suggestion, unfortunately it didn't work.
    I did the factory reset, it worked... for about 5 seconds, and I was quickly returned to the small Indian village I apparently inhabit.
    Phone was connected via wifi at the time, I feel like this is important.

    There are a few variables in my situation, and otherwise the phone is quickly becoming my bff, so I am doing to try not get ocd over it and see what happens. :wink:
  11. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Hehehehe...Yeah, I apparently had an interesting afternoon in the mountains of Nepal earlier this afternoon. :icon_ banana:
  12. fupher
    Offline

    fupher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Haha!! No kidding, I was there yesterday! It's even more peculiar to me that my location varies within the same region. Interestingly, I'm also in Florida.
    The plot thickens! :popcorn:
  13. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am sure most of you understand how GPS works but just in case let me suggest a few things since I dont think the droid has a defective GPS unit.

    GPS is based off of satellite technology. Sometimes GPS takes a good amount of time before a signal is established. Just like satellite TV weather can affect the signal quality. So to make sure your GPS is working properly go outside and find an area not blocked by trees and buildings and give your phone about 60 seconds to connect to a satellite. If after several attempts it does not work you may have a defective GPS unit.
  14. txskeets
    Offline

    txskeets New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My GPS picks up its signal as soon as I step outside with no issues. I think you may have a bad GPS.
  15. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Try a hard reset.
  16. spikejnz
    Offline

    spikejnz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    I work for a major GPS manufacturer (if you look at my location, it shouldn't be too hard to figure out) and what you're describing is standard operation for any GPS device out there. Basically, the device needs to get an initial positioning fix. Since this has obviously never been done before, it can take some time to get the initial fix. After that time, assuming that you haven't kept the GPS off for a long time or haven't traveled a long distance with the GPS off, the almanac data should allow the device to acquire sats rather quickly.
  17. biggestmexi
    Offline

    biggestmexi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im on my second droid due to improperly working GPS.

    i picked it up sat (the second one) and it still works.

    It kept saying i was in ohio (when it DID pick up satellites) and moving to boot
  18. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I did that last night with no change in functionality.

    How many minutes should I leave the phone on, sitting on the back porch, before I should assume the GPS is non-functional rather than just needing its first fix.

    I'm willing to give it a shot to avoid having to swap it out. The several times I've tried, I've given up after about five minutes.
  19. beaker45
    Offline

    beaker45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to hear about the GPS issues. Mine works great, and in a head to head against my Garmin 265 it was flawless. It is a great feature (obviously when it is working). Google Navigation is also great, as is the voice searching. Droid is the best phone I've ever owned or used.
  20. spikejnz
    Offline

    spikejnz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    With our devices, we usually suggest between 15-30 minutes. There are numerous factors that could be playing into acquisition issues...too many scenarios to list out here. One thing I would suggest is to download GPSTest and see how many satellites you are receiving data from.
Similar Threads
  1. SoSa
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    590
  2. jliller
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,800
  3. Popper
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    533
  4. ckburks
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    873
  5. billcows
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,210
Loading...
Search tags for this page
apparent gps android
,
builtin failure
,
droid incredible 2 gps failed
,

gps failure android

,
gps failures florida
,
note 3 gps failures
,
prl sch i510
,
slow gps on droid charge sch-i510