1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

App updates

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by nhra1ss, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just wondering if anyone has there updates set to automatically update, rather than manually after getting a notification? I know apps like LauncherPro and Handcent might be ok to set auto, but not sure about the others. What is your take on this?
  2. kechamb
    Offline

    kechamb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I prefer to update apps myself but that just a personal thing and I am kind of a control freak.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You can set all apps to update automatically, and they should but don't always do it. However, sometimes an update will break or remove features you might want to keep, and if there's a permissions change then the Market will flag it for manual update only just in case the app starts asking for stuff you don't want to give it permission to do.
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    And sorry, I partially misread your question... but my answer still stands, just with an oops! attached. :)
  5. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    So maybe it is better to just do it manually. That way you can see what is new in the update before downloading. A little bit of a hassle at times, but I understand why you wouldn't want auto update.
  6. KingLo
    Offline

    KingLo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what Ive been reading about the newest handcent update, it breaks the app.
  7. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Really? I know I probably have the latest update & it seems fin e to me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I have the newest version of handcent and I'm not experiencing problems

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. rowdymom
    Offline

    rowdymom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    auto updates

    How can I turn off the automatic updates? I accidentally set all to auto
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    In the market? You go into the individual apps and deselect the checkbox.

    The only real worry, though, is that permissions might change -- any borked updates will be fixed quickly in an update, or you can uninstall and sideload the earlier version -- and if permissions change you have to manually update the app anyway. :)