App to make nandroid backup? Not Rom Manager

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by charger94, Apr 29, 2011.

  1. charger94

    charger94 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just wondering if there is an app that will straight up make a nandroid backup for me. I can't get rom manager to work. I rooted with universal androot and it doesn't flash a new recovery for me. I'm too confused to do the whole open recovery thing and thaqts why I ask this question...
     
  2. nathan56989

    nathan56989 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's nothing really confusing about opening recovery. All you do is power off the phone, press and hold the power button, and the x button at the sametime until recovery comes up. then use your camera or directional button to navigate to the nandroid option then select it with either the center button on the directional pad or the camera button. Once in the nandroid screen just select backup. Trust me it's a lot of words but very simple. I don't know of any app.
     
  3. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    It is very simple! I'm sure there's probably a youtube video on how to do it!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. charger94

    charger94 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do i flash open recovery?

    Sent from my Milestone using DroidForums
     
  5. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean clockworkmod recovery? You get Rom manager from the market and select flash clockworkmod recovery. Do it 3 times in a row, then boot into recovery from Rom manager or manually by holding down x while powering on.

    I don't know of anything called "open recovery".


    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
     
  6. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    When you opened rom manager for the first time it prompts you to install ClockworkMod recovery, did you do that? If so, power off your phone, then hold X and power until the moto logo appears then let go of power and keep holding X. Clockwork recovery will appear, then scroll down to nandroid using the volume button and select it with the camera button. Then scroll to backup, and select that.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. jimmydene84

    jimmydene84 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just my experience, clockwork wouldn't install on my phone at first, I had to go to the bottom of rom manager there is an option to install sp recovery. I had to install that first, then install clockwork for it to actually work......might try that if ur havin issues still

    Sent from my Droid
     
  8. charger94

    charger94 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont have the sp recovery option. I have alternate recoveries but none work they all say error

    Sent from my Milestone using DroidForums
     
  9. charger94

    charger94 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i did but it says cwm download sucessful not flashed like it should. Ive gone into recovery but it wont flash the zip update

    Sent from my Milestone using DroidForums
     
  10. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    When you go into recovery, its not CWM recovery?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    No because he rooted using universal androot which doesn't remove FRS. Everytime he reboots it will go back to stock.

    Try fixing permissions in the menu function of RM.

    Then flash CWMR 3 times, then power off, slide keyboard open, hold x and hold power.
     
  12. charger94

    charger94 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I just tried fixing permissions and it told me error occured while trying to run privelaged commands. Whats is frs? If there is another way to remove it I will try that

    Sent from my Milestone using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
backup milestone x2
,
create nandroid backup milestone x
,
how to do a nandroid backup without rom manager
,
how to do a rom backup on a motorola milestone
,
how to make a nandroid without rom manager
,
milestone x2 rom manager
,

nandroid backup milestone x2

,

nandroid backup without rom manager

,
nandroid bu without rom mansgr
,

rom backup without rom manager