* Android settings
* App data and settings
* Wi-Fi keys
* E-mail account set up
* SMS messages
* Music play lists, album art, etc.
* Etc.
* And so on

I've seen a thread or two about and an app or two for one or a few of these but none that claim to address a complete clone of my environment. Android is Linux-based, it really should be as simple as copying
Code:
/etc/*
. How can I do this?

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
If your original phone was rooted and you have a recent back-up this is a cinch, if not than it is a bit more complicated

You say your old device is dead...how dead ?

OP
C

Chris.Nelson

Reaction score
If your original phone was rooted and you have a recent back-up this is a cinch, if not than it is a bit more complicated

I wasn't rooted but it could be. I'm a noob in that area though (I'm a s/w engineer with 25 years experience but none of it in Android internals.)

You say your old device is dead...how dead ?

The charger input has a mechanical problem that keeps the phone from charging. I can charge the battery in the replacement and put it into the original and all is well. Since I don't yet have a way to copy my stuff over, that's what I'm doing now.

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
If you root your old device, you can make what is called a nandroid back-up, you could then root your new device, root it and restore the nandroid from the previous device onto the new device, everything on the new phone would be exactly how it was on the old phone

I will post a few links that you might find helpful

OP
C

Chris.Nelson

Reaction score
Sorry, I am at work and got swamped

No problem.

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html

So this voids my warranty. Which I wouldn't mind if I wasn't about to mail the phone back because it's broken. Can I get my phone back to original condition so they don't get it back rooted?

spider210

Reaction score