ApeX 1.4.1 no facebook contact sync

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by suckamucka, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. suckamucka

    suckamucka Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using facebook 1.5.1 on ApeX 1.4.1 and facebook does not show the option to sync contacts. Anyone else have this off behavior?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it's because Apex uses blur. That is why I went to liberty rom, and all my fb pictures sync beautifully!

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  3. suckamucka

    suckamucka Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using liberty 1.5 but I like the blur corporate email.
    Do we know what part of blur is causing the facebook option not to appear in settings?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blur and facebook do not get along since froyo update back in sept. Any rom that uses blur well not sync facebook contact pictures.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  5. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I have no clue why and spent way too much time on the motorola forum with never an answer. They wouldn't even confirm that it was a blur issue!

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  6. dvader

    dvader Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    in liberty installing the facebook app gives you the sync options.
    in apex or other blur based roms, you have to go into my accounts and add the little facebook icon account and that will sync your pictures.
    mine works and syncs fine on apex 1.4.1
     
  7. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It may sync just fine after you add your account, but they will never update.


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  8. dvader

    dvader Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    that sux facebook app must detect blur and remove that option. we need someone to fix that
     
  9. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    It totally sucks, and to be honest...it was the whole reason I ended up rooting my phone. I hated not seeing sync'd fb for months at a time. It was driving me crazy! I initially started out with Apex, and I honestly loved it, but once I realized the contact pictures were not updating, I looked elsewhere. So I that's when I went to Liberty and realized any ROM with Blur, the fb sync option is removed in the app.
     
  10. suckamucka

    suckamucka Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem with this, is it sync's all facebook contacts. I don't want that. Just the pictures of the contacts I have in Google contacts.
     
  11. jacko1

    jacko1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to the market download sync my pix
    Follow instructions and it will sync only contacts with facebook
     
  12. Smashie

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Don't bother with Sync my pix, it doesn't work for SH!T. 90% of the contacts will not sync, and then you have to do it manually.