AOSP build memory footprint vs stock ROM

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thinkmega, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    After I made my first AOSP ROM (sholes), I compared the "major" components to the stock ROM, I find mines have larger size than the ones in stock. Is this something normal or I might have missed some steps? I follow the instructions posted in the sticky note, nothing else.

    Please share your thoughts on this. Thanks.
  2. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    when Motorola makes the rom they pull from aosp, you could just have built a newer version of android. or there was new commits from the time you compiled it and they did.
  3. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +31
    your build may have debugging enabled
  4. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    depending on what you appended to your device in lunch that could make the diffrence.. there is eng, usr and some other one i forget though.

    but this is where some debugging things can be added as stated by prime
  5. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I suspect. How can I disable the debugging feature?
Search tags for this page

what is aosp or rom memory