1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Anyway to send phone back that's been rooted

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by badazprelude, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I have a Droid RAZR xt 912 running 6.16.211 stock ROM was rooted but unrooted now. But when I boot into recovery still ha the q0/1. Is there anyway to remove this I need to return for a warranty issue.
    Thanks for any help
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    I believe that is Moto/Verizon's way of keeping tabs on you. You could try using RSD to flash back to stock "out if the box" but I don't think there is anything you can do.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks I will try that first is there a link up for stock ics image
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
  5. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again I will post if this works our not...
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Sorry, but don't think there is anything you can do to erase/reset the, far a lack of a better word, "mechanism", that keeps track of the phone ever being rooted or is currently rooted. Let me elaborate...your phone has a unique identifier. Verizon has the capability to query your phone to determine its "state". One aspect of that is whether the phone is rooted, has been rooted but not rooted now or has never been rooted. That information is stored in Verizon's system, not necessarily on your phone. So trying to reset that or change that information is like trying to "un-ring a bell".
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2012
  7. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well guess i will like that charge on my account lol...
  8. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone else had the sane issue and know if you get charged
  9. droidbionicmaster
    Offline

    droidbionicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They will charge you. rooting voids warranty.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  10. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me see if I got this right, are you saying that if I bought a phone today then rooted it, vzw would already know that it has been rooted even if I took the root off? I sent many phones in (took the root off before I sent it) and never had a problem.

    Sent from my nexus 7 tablet while I'm away from my real computer
  11. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    All 4.0.4+ now has the root checker built in. There is a setting on the phone that once rooted will "trip" and can not be reset, so they will know.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  12. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting, I guess I won't root anymore.

    Sent on my Moto RAZR HD while I'm in class, in a meeting, in a waiting room, or in the bathroom
  13. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Exactly

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
  14. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the galaxy s3 have it to I dont see it under recovery like I did razr
  15. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm not sure. Never had hands on with a S3.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  16. badazprelude
    Offline

    badazprelude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Im sure they have a way of telling that's what they put me in when my razr wouldn't work the gps just stop working lol
  17. Bakerboy448
    Offline

    Bakerboy448 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not true.
    I direct you to this thread.
    To Clear Up Any Misconceptions Users May Have About Rooting And Warranties - DroidRzr.com

    TLDR:
  18. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    It's not concrete.. simply rooting your phone does give them the right to say they will not service you, doesn't mean they wont, but thats why they install the root checker. If you return a phone and there is something wrong with it, they will check if you are rooted and if you were then, good luck.
  19. Spey
    Offline

    Spey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read somewhere (most likely over at XDA) that the device has a switch setting (I am assuming in the registry) with three options (0, 1, 2). 0 & 1 begin related to current status unrooted/rooted, and 2 related to history (2 = phone has been rooted at least one time). I would assume the 0 & 1 is the flag that determines y/n display the "nag" screen that the device is currently rooted. So, the goal would be to be able to reset the switch back to origination.
  20. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yup.. don't remember seeing about the 2 though. 0/0 is non rooted and 1/0 is rooted IIRC. Once rooted it will always read 1/0 no matter current state.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page

how to return a rooted phone

,

return a rooted phone

,
return rooted phone
,
returning a rooted phone
,

returning a rooted phone to verizon

,

returning rooted phone to verizon

,
sending back a phone thats rooted
,
track if your rooted verizon
,

verizon return rooted phone

,
verizon returning a rooted phone