Anyone worried about the 3 year old GPU, no sd-card slot, lack of removable battery?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by TheBoyPat, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. busab

    busab Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greer, SC
    Ratings:
    +8
    According to wikipedia it is the PowerVR SGX540 @ 384 MHz

    Texas Instruments OMAP - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    Edit: Sorry I read your question wrong. Yes your are correct GPU=graphics processing unit.:)
     
  2. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks! so from my understanding the one they are including in the prime is outdated? again, i dont really know whats happeneing here. Ive been out of the loop
     
  3. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    What will anyone be doing on their phones that needs a super speedy GPU?

    My D3 uses the same one as the Galaxy Nexus, and it's never been a problem. Even when playing FPS games and N64 Emulators, there is no lag.


    And isn't the GNex supposed to "utilize" both cores very well? So wouldn't it be even faster? lol
     
  4. ice456789

    ice456789 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Most games probably won't take advantage of both cores, at least until dual core takes over more of the market.
     
  5. woodsie

    woodsie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 5mp spec is a feature not detriment if you read between the lines. There is a reason that high end DSLRs often have a lower pixel count than some point and shoots.

    I was stoked when I first read they were going with a lower pixel count because I knew it meant they were going with a higher quality sensor. What good are a bunch of extra pixels if they are inaccurate?

    My DROID X is 8mp and my old 5mp Canon point and shoot takes WAY better pictures. Its not even close. Phone makers should have gone this direction a long time ago but instead chose to give idiot consumers what they THINK they want which so far has meant focusing on meaningless high MP counts.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +343
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2XL & Pixel C
    ^Good stuff! I am big on photography (paid big bucks for a DSLR and pro glass) and this is the camera I would want on my phone.
     
  7. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    so as far as upcoming phones, the prime is the way to go by almost all measures. Only thing ill want is my free wifi teathering
     
  8. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Unless I'm mistaken, you'll have your free wifi tethering. Unless Google specifically removed this ability from ICS, Verizon has no say in the matter.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. Trusstopher

    Trusstopher Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +84
    Verizon has the ability to redirect traffic coming through a wireless tethering app.
     
  10. leakim13

    leakim13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wonder if there's a radiocomm program out there for samsung like there is for motorola... if so that won't be an issue.

    Sent from my POS DROID2 GLOBAL that I never wanted and wish would explode.
     
  11. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    But they're not currently, nor have they made any plan to do so public, correct? I still use wireless tether from time to time and I've never had a single redirect.
     
  12. Trusstopher

    Trusstopher Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +84
    I used to use the wireless Tether that came packaged in the UD rom's back when they were on 2.5ish... It's been a few months now, but I'm pretty sure the last time I tried it, I got bumped to a page with details on pricing and plans for Verizon's tethering packages... after that I went to PDAnet and just wire tether the rare times I need to get on.
     
Search tags for this page

galaxy nexus gpu is old

,
gpu on sdcard
,
samsung galaxy nexus sd card location
,
samsung nexus sd card
,
sd slot and removable battery